Need help installing rom


Last Updated:

  1. marsblaster

    marsblaster Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    9
    I downloaded the velocity 0.3 and I tried to install the rom, but when it goes to the boot it shows an exlamation mark and the android robot thing. Then it goes away and reboots the system again. Its also the same when I try to access recovery mode via rom manager. Any ideas to get this to work would be helpful... I read somewhere it's the signature for the rom is missing and to change the settings manually but I can't get to recovery screen.


    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. dots

    dots Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    245
    Your getting that because somehow clockwork "un-flashed" itself. Try re-flashing the recovery.
     
    Proto` and k.c.cole like this.
  3. Cjohn8792

    Cjohn8792 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    9
    It sounds like you didn't flash your rom before you installed the Velocity .3 from your SD Card. You are probably going to need to boot into recovery and clear data/cache and do a recovery; assuming you have one made. After the recovery is done you will have to pick reboot, you might have to select it twice so don't get worried if it reboots back into the recovery screen after. Then load rom manager, flash it, install from SD card, and it will reboot again and hopefully install the ROM. When I installed it it didn't show a loading screen or install screen so I thought I was bricked, I let it sit for about 4 or 5 minutes and it gradually ran through and worked. Don't get worried if it seems stuck let it sit for 5 minutes. Hopefully this works. If all else fails, Recover to a backup and just stay with it. Good Luck.
     
  4. dots

    dots Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    245
    If he is getting that android with the exclmation point and the phone reboots that means that clockwork didn't stay flashed for some odd reason (its quite common with people i help on irc) and it reverts back to the stock recovery. re-flashing clockwork from rom manger should fix that
     
  5. PowerBomb

    PowerBomb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    104
    This happened to me so many times when I was first learning how to flash ROMs. This is what worked for me.

    Open ROM Manager. Press your phone's menu key, go to settings. Check the option for "erase recovery prior to flashing" or whatever it says exactly. Then go back to the main ROM Manager screen. Go to the top and flash the recovery again. Wait for it to say success. Then tell it to boot into recovery. This time you should succeed in getting to the menu instead of the error message.
     
  6. death2all110

    death2all110 VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    1,208
    Clockwork gets unflashed because of the stock script "install-recovery.sh" that script flashes the stock recovery on boot if it doesnt match up. best way around it is to do what blackmetalbuick said. or adb into the phone and rename the script
     
  7. marsblaster

    marsblaster Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    9
    thanks....

    i figured it out :)
     
  8. netizenmt

    netizenmt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    111
    <cheers> Well done - took me longer to get past that ! LOL
     
  9. Gereima

    Gereima Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    wow reflash clockworks and works just fine now thanks guys
     

Share This Page

Loading...