Need Help so Phone Doesn't Blow Up! ASAP!

Last Updated:

1. HeXiiK

HeXiiK Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

Ok. I rooted my phone with the one click root. Installed the Droid X Reboot app. And now I Bootstrap Recovery and Reboot Recovery. Now I'm at a screen that says:

ClockworkMod Recovery v2.5.0.6

-reboot system now
    -apply sdcard:update.zip
    -wipe data/factory reset
    -wipe cache partition
    -install zip from sdcard
    -backup and restore
    -mounts and storage
    -advanced

Now what is the first step in this process? I'm new to rooting and I REALLY DONT WANT MY PHONE TO EXPLODE!! If you could explain what they mean.

Advertisement
  2. cygnusloop

cygnusloop Well-Known Member

HeXiiK likes this.
  3. HeXiiK

Will I need a ROM Manager? Where can I get one?

4. Airmaxx23

Airmaxx23 Well-Known Member

Just search for "rom manager" in the market.

5. HeXiiK

Ok now for some terms. ROM Read Only Memory. Is Downloading ROMs, downloading themes?

6. Willyg44

Willyg44 Well-Known Member

The process for installing themes is the same as installing ROMs, although it isn't necessary to wipe data/cache when installing a theme over a ROM.

7. jreed2560

jreed2560 Well-Known Member

Roms replace you entire system. themes just change the image files of some applications, the status bar, widgets and others. If you want to go back to bootstrap and reboot into recovery again, before I download anything else, I would make a stock backup so that if anything you do messes up your phone you can always go back to square one as long as you can get into recovery

8. jreed2560

ROM is an acronym for read only memory but ROMs in this case generally refer to the firmware of the phone.

9. mxsjw

mxsjw Well-Known Member

1st step? Go to backup and restore and create a backup so if something effs up, you start where you are now.

10. cygnusloop