Need help with black screenSupport


Last Updated:

  1. greygoose1

    greygoose1 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Black screen help!

    Yesterday when I was in the phone store looking at accessories the clerk downloaded advanced task killer or manager (something like that) and several hours later my phone screen is completely black. It rings when I call it and I hear notifications for email and text, but no screen at all.

    I pulled the card and the battery, let it sit and then tried to turn the phone on without the card but that didn't work either.

    Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Halcyon

    Halcyon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    38
    Why would you let the clerk d/l anything to your phone! I would march right back into the store and talk to the manager. Let them deal with it. It sounds like another case of a poorly trained/informed salesperson messing your phone up. But a trip to Verizon is in your future sir.
     
  3. NOsquid

    NOsquid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    65
    Use a brightness widget?
     
  4. greygoose1

    greygoose1 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I was pretty upset with the fact that he did that. But, he told me that all employees were told during training (on android devices) to download that app for customers to extend battery life. I don't know if he was full of it or not, but that's what he said.

    I will be making a trip to Verizon at lunch today, I just wanted to see if this problem was common or not.

    FYI... I should make it clear that the app came from the android marketplace. I thought that was a "trusted" source for apps.
     
  5. greygoose1

    greygoose1 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you asking if I downloaded a brightness app? If so, I have not.
     
  6. NOsquid

    NOsquid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    65
    Nope, pretty much anything goes in the market. You're thinking of the apple app store.
     
  7. NOsquid

    NOsquid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    65
    Hmm weird brightness widgets have done this to a few of us.

    Go get yourself a new phone, sorry for the trouble. They should give you a new one no questions asked
     
  8. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    yeah, they should replace it no questions asked. Odin should fix it too, but thats not for everyone.
     
  9. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    He was telling you the truth. Verizon views it as the universal sure to issues with Android. I even had a rep tell me I needed to download it because a phone was having 3g connection issues.
     
  10. greygoose1

    greygoose1 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, sad to say the verizon reps told me that the call quality and screen problems I had are pretty common. I had several Verizon sales reps tell me that the droid x is the better phone, so that is what I went with. I will say that the call quality is far superior, but the camera is nicer on the SF and so is the UI IMO. Maybe i will change my mind once I spend more time with the X, but that is my first impression.
     
  11. Halcyon

    Halcyon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    38
    Never... listen.... to REPS! Didn’t a rep screw your phone in the first place? The Fascinate is a better phone. I had 2 Droid X's and left Moto which are plagued with issues. I had two Droid X's that developed hardware issues. I went with the Fascinate and I’m not looking back.
     
  12. greygoose1

    greygoose1 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
  13. iamnotafanofgravel

    iamnotafanofgravel New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had this happen to two fascinates. an app changes the brightness and everything goes black. Factory reset doesn't bring it back either. I guess a new rom might fix it, but the store just swapped mine out. Makes me nervous about trying apps.
     
  14. Knewz

    Knewz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    821
    Likes Received:
    72
    Go to the store and have it swapped. As long as its not rooted they will swap it if the screen is blank. Advanced task killer is a good app to have but the Fascinate doesn't need it because it comes with a task manager already. If its within 30 days they will give u a brand new phone as a repacement
     
  15. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    I'll go ahead and disagree with you there. ATK is a bad app to have. Android doesn't need it.
     
  16. Knewz

    Knewz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    821
    Likes Received:
    72

Share This Page

Loading...