• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Need help with erasing phone and restoring all data after fresh install

Kane860

May 12, 2013
I am new to android and have had my new Galaxy S4 for only 5 days now. Several key features have not been working and after taking my phone into the Samsung experience center at Best Buy, they cant figure out why these features are not working and told me that I should reset the phone back to factory settings to see if that restores these features. So far, my new phone will not let me take a screen shot by waiving my hand over the screen, will not allow me to add additional lock screens which is something it is capable of doing now, the air touch preview thing is not working right, and some of the stock apps are giving me voice feedback when my voice stuff is all turned off in accessibility. I have been an iPhone user for 6 years and I have to say that my brief experience with android is not proving to be a very good one right now.

So with all of that said, I need to restore my phone and then I need to get ALL of my data, apps and stuff back on it. Coming from the iPhone, I am use to iTunes taking care of all of this without a glitch and restoring my phones back to EXACTLY the way it was before I erased it. Is it the same way with these android phones, if it isn't what do I need to do to make sure I do not lose any of my data, apps, etc.. I have already downloaded almost 200 apps and done a lot of customizing to my phone so I def do not want to lose these settings as it has taken me all week to get it the way I want.

Please advise on what I should do. I have already backed up to KIES but I don't think that takes care of everything on my phone. Or does it? I just want to erase my phone, restore to factory, and then restore back from a back up and get it back to the way it is at the moment..

hey kane860