Need help with EVO V4G

Last Updated: 2014-01-12 14:57:00
  1. joethecopper

joethecopper Member

Hello,

First off, I'm pretty new with the rooting thing but I successfully did it with my old Triumph so I thought I'd give it a shot with my Evo. I followed the steps in the S-Off, root & Fix everything guide, using the included script. I got the the end of the script and it exited. I then selected bootloader from the hboot, then selected recovery. When I pushed power to select, the phone rebooted and got stuck in a bootloop. I've tried getting back in the boot loader by holding the vol down and power but nothing happens. I pulled the battery and the usb cord then reinstalled and nothing. I can get the phone to power on (and bootloop) if I pull the sc card but other than that, it wont do anything now. Did I brick it or does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks

Advertisement
  2. Brian706

Brian706 Moderator Moderator

It sounds like you don't have recovery installed.

If you battery pull you should be able to get to the bootloader.

Is there a PG86IMG.zip on your sd card?

You can attempt using command adb reboot bootloader while the phone is bootlooping.

If you can get to fastboot, can you run fastboot getvar all and paste the info here? Or at minimum the info from your bootloader screen?

Also, I moved this into the root section. :)
  3. joethecopper

joethecopper Member

Thanks.

This is a lot to ask, can you walk me through doing that, or point me to a guide?
  4. Brian706

Sure, I can try to help. It might be a little tricky because I don't know exactly what state the phone is in.

Can you get to the bootloader?

Pull the batter then replace it. Then hold volume down+power.

If you can get to the bootloader we should be able to flash a recovery and then a rom to get the phone booting up again.
  5. joethecopper

joethecopper Member

I can't get to the bootloader.