• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

need help with gingerbread on lg optimus s

dizzle16

Android Enthusiast
May 5, 2011
Cleveland, Ohio
Hey guys,

Im new to the android arena so i signed up with sprint in Feb, got the lg optimus s for free and and very happy with it. Ive logged a lot of research hrs on the phone, the system and what higher end phones can do. I will say i love this phone but recognize its mid level inception. I saw 2 videos on youtube where guys are using Android 2.3 on this model and out simply I hate knowing my phones OS can be upgraded but not being able to do it. Im not a tech wiz but would like to think im smart and I KNOW I CAN FOLLOW A SMARTER PERSONS INSTRUCTIONS. this is a popular phone and while many are happy with it im not convinced upgrading the optimus s is at the top of lg's priorities. I've heard CM7 is what i need to put it on my device but i havent rooted yet and would really, seriously, IMMENSELY appreciate a more tech savy brain to help this infidel out and show me the path to gingerbread on my optimus s.