Need help with my ERIS PLEASEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!General


Last Updated:

  1. Greekster

    Greekster Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey guys, i need some help. got this eris on ebay description said it restarts and cant get to the main screen. anyways, the phone powers on and just keeps rebooting. I dont know what to do, i went into the boot screen and this is what is says

    PB00100 XC SHIP S-ON
    HBOOT-1.46.0000
    TOUCH PANEL-fail
    RADIO-2.32.40.11.09
    October 5, 2009

    All i want to do is get this thing working jus for wifi cause i cant afford the 30 a month to use it, can someone help me get this thing back to basic? pleaseeee
     

    Advertisement
  2. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    That 'touch panel - fail' kind of worries me...

    Try doing a factory reset.
    (copied from Frisco's Factory Data Reset thread)

    - Shut down your device.

    - While holding down both the volume-down toggle and the send or "phone" button, press the power button.

    - Wait a moment, and a screen will come up: read the print completely and follow directions, it'll walk you through the simple process.
     
  3. Greekster

    Greekster Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    i did that and it still just keep rebooting. is there anyway i can just like completely go back to the 1.5 version?? i jus wanna use it for wifi. Im not to experienced with this stuff thats why i have not a clue..
     
  4. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    OK, try this.
    Turn off the phone.
    Press and hold the volume up button and turn the phone on.
    What happens?
     
  5. Greekster

    Greekster Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    you mean up and send button then the power?
     
  6. Greekster

    Greekster Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    now it shows a triangle with exclamation point, what should i do
     
  7. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
  8. JrzDroid

    JrzDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    308
    it sounds like it might have a hardware problem and the phone is trying to boot but is not able. If a factory reset won't solve the issue that makes it seem more like hardware.
    You might have a bricked phone with no chance of recovery
     
  9. Greekster

    Greekster Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes i still got the triangle :( anything else? i really wanna get this back to original,.
     
  10. Greekster

    Greekster Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    so theres abs nothing you can do to it if its "bricked or w/e"?
     
  11. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,686
    Likes Received:
    22,044
    Greekster,

    I do think the "TOUCH PANEL-fail" message is an ominous sign, as JrzDroid pointed-out.

    I did a quick Google search and found this:

    - http://androidforums.com/htc-hero/55007-touch-panel-fail-bootloop.html

    - TOUCH PANEL-fail - xda-developers

    - http://androidcommunity.com/forums/f41/touch-panel-fail-and-stuck-on-boot-screen-34489/

    Didn't sound like anyone really had an answer, so I sort-of assume that these were indeed hardware (touch panel) issues.

    Hope this helps (even though I know its not what you wanted to hear).
     
  12. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    Thanks Scary, and Jrz.
    I was kind of thinking 'SOL' right from the start with that touch panel error, but figured it would be worth trying a few things to see if maybe it was salvageable.
     
  13. gospodinwizard

    gospodinwizard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    4
    I seem to remember from XDA that flashing some certain ROM (can't remember right now which one) resulted in a similar error for some people. It might be worth seeing if adb can recognize the device.
     
  14. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,686
    Likes Received:
    22,044
  15. gospodinwizard

    gospodinwizard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    4
  16. Greekster

    Greekster Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    so is the phone not repairable?
     
  17. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    Oh yeah, I remember that - vaguely. Something about there being two different screens used on the Eris and if you flashed ROM X and had problem Y with your phone then you could download and install Z to make the problem go away.
    Now if only someone knew the values of X, Y and Z...
     
  18. Scynthetic78

    Scynthetic78 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    10
    I could be wrong, but IIRC it was either White Widow or Suave Smush that had issues with the different touch screens. Andrizoid might be able to help out with this.
     
  19. bjanow

    bjanow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,763
    Likes Received:
    477
    Andrizoid is over in the Incredible section. Better PM him.
     
  20. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,686
    Likes Received:
    22,044
    Okay, this has still been bugging me...so I just wanted to ask the OP to clarify a few things:

    1. Have you tried a battery pull? (didn't see that mentioned above)

    2. Is the battery fully-charged? (wait until you get the green charging light instead of the red one)

    3. When its "freaking-out", can you do a "adb devices" from the Android SDK? eu1 has reported that the adb daemon should (might) be running even during boot loops? (I don't necessarily know what to do next, but this might be important information to have in order to try something else). If we can communicate via adb, we might be able to push a PB00IMG.zip over to the phone update it that way.

    4. What information was communicated to you regarding what state the device was in when you purchased it? (i.e., did you get it really cheap?--implying that it might have been sketchy to begin with?). The HBOOT version and date listed in post #1 indicate that its probably a very early (read "older", first build) Eris. How's the seller's reputation?

    5. Just to be clear, a press-and-hold of volume-DOWN and end/power simultaneously still results in a boot-loop? It doesn't stop and prompt for anything?

    6. Just to be clear, a press-and-hold of volume-UP and end/power simultaneously (keep pressing and holding the volume-UP for a few seconds even after the screen shows something) results in a triangle with exclaimation point?

    7. Does the screen look "normal" (i.e., any defects, scratches, dents on the housing to indicate an impact?). I guess the TOUCH PANEL-fail could indicate a good display but a bad/broken touch input interface.

    That's all I got. :p
     
  21. Greekster

    Greekster Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes tried pulling battery, tried clearing storage through a reset, tried recovery mode still loops or w/e, phone is mint looks new. theres gotta be some way of getting it back to normal i would think/hope. when u say a battery pull do u mean just take batttery out and try again?
     
  22. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,686
    Likes Received:
    22,044
    Yep...pull it out for a minute and put it back in and reboot... Can you tell if its fully-charged (I was searching for situations like yours and one person reported a boot loop due to a very low charged battery).
     
  23. Greekster

    Greekster Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea its charged, any other options that i have?
     
  24. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,686
    Likes Received:
    22,044
  25. Greekster

    Greekster Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    ya i would have no clue how to do that :/ im srewed arent i -_-
     

Share This Page

Loading...