• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Need help with OTA updates

I'm a complete noob with this. I just got my droid x and rooted it. Now it downloaded an OTA update and I keep hitting install later and it keeps popping up every two hours. How can I block this/get rid of the update it has already downloaded? I think the update was to go from 2.2 to 2.2.3. Ugh. I don't want to lose my root. Thanks in advance!

Let it install. It's a good update. The use Download z4root 1.3.0 for Android Free - z4root will root your device and enable you to supply system level access to applications that request it. - Softpedia (z4root) to re-root. It's easy. Download it from this site ^ then install it.

Then reboot. After rebooting, select the "permanent root" option. Let it do its thing. It'll take a minute or three and will reboot you into root. :)

PM me if you need further help.

Finally, I have to move this to the root section, but I'll leave a long redirect for ya! :)

Reactions: Dieewigeteufel
Upvote 0
Upvote 0
1) Make sure you wipe data and cache first. If you don't, when you boot into 2.2.1, you may get a boot animation loop (bootloop). I did. If you do, that's no problem.
Just pull the battery. Put it back in. Hold down the HOME button, then put the power button down. When you get a \!/ notice, hit the search button.

You'll get into the recovery mode. Do a data wipe and you'll be set and you'll boot into a fresh 2.2.1

Upvote 0
1) You've rebooted into recovery (clockworkmod recovery)
2) press the volume down to go to wipe data/factory reset. Select it by hitting the camera button.
3) Scroll down to yes and hit the camera button again.

4) scroll to "install zip from sd card" and select it.
5) find your maderstock file on your sd card by navigating with the scrolling button. Select it and leave it alone for 5 or so minutes. It takes a bit to install itself.

Upvote 0