need help with rooting...PLEASE!! Sprint HTC Hero


Last Updated:

  1. NoNeck

    NoNeck Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know there are some threads already out there, but I cant figure out what I'm doing wrong. I have an HTC Hero running Android 1.5. I have to use flashrec v112 because v113 doesnt work for me. When I try to use flashrec-1.1.3-20091107-2.apk i get an error saying "Recovery Flasher could not be installed on this phone" after I try to install it. Now when I run the flashrec-1.1.2-20090909.apk, I can install it and when I open it I get to the black screen that says my phone type is ENI1/32A and in the space there is http://zenthought.org/flashrec/cm-recov-1.4-32a.img with both "downlaod Recovery Image" and "Backup Recovery Image" selectable. If I erase the info in the space Download Recovery Image is not selectable. What do I do at this point? I have already have the recovery img and the fresh 1.1 on my sd card, but get stuck here. THanks in advance for your help and imput.
     

    Advertisement
  2. 702DROID

    702DROID Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    22
    shoudl have used fresh auto rooter in the kitchen
     
  3. NoNeck

    NoNeck Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    I downloaded the fresh-cdma-hero-1.1.rar and fresh-pre-kitchen.exe, but how do I use them?
     
  4. BSki

    BSki Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    2
    Doesn't even sound like you are rooted yet. Not sure what directions you are following but I never ran any APK off my sd card when I rooted.
     
  5. NoNeck

    NoNeck Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    It was the one click setup from unlockr.com I installed the apk and img file on the sdcard.
     
  6. mich0020

    mich0020 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    4
    What step are you on? I just moved both files onto the root of the sd card and followed the directions.
    ...
    7. Save both the Recovery-RA-HEROC-v1.5.2.img and the FlashRec.apk to your computer, then copy them both to your SD card (do NOT put them inside any folders on the SD card, just put them on the SD card itself).
    8. Unplug the phone from the computer once they are downloaded to the SD card.
    8. Goto the Market and download Linda File Manager or any file manager program if you do not already have one.
    9. Open the file manager and goto SDCard and then find the FlashRec apk file and click it. If asked tell it to use Package Installer to open it. It should automatically install the apk.
    10. Open the FlashRec program and click on Backup Recovery Image and wait for it to finish.
    11. Once done, click on the empty text box in the FlashRec program and type (again remember we have replaced the recovery image from the one in the video so type what is written here, NOT what is written in the video!):
    /sdcard/recovery-RA-heroc-v1.5.2.img
     
  7. BSki

    BSki Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    2
    Not to sound like a jerk, but if you do not know what you are doing, you are playing with fire.

    Read read read read read. All the info is there on the xda site, you just have to look for it, read it and understand it.

    These posts come up every week and I am amazed people continue to respond with the same information that is on page 2 or 3.

    I did not root the way you did. If you downloaded the kitchen, all you had to do was click one button, but sounds like you are doing 2 different methods.
     
  8. 702DROID

    702DROID Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    22

    open the kitchen exe file on your windows comp click the help icon and make sure your phone passes all the checks then go and use the auto rooter and you have no more use for the method from the unlocker once thats completed the phone should reboot itself into recovery mode where you MAKE A BACKUP FIRST then go ahead and flash fresh 1.1
     
  9. NoNeck

    NoNeck Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Mich...I'm on step 10, but when I click Open is when I get on that black screen with Download Recovery Image and Backup Recovery Image, but what do I put into blank section? I did put /sdcard/recovery.img (I renamed it). After I put it in, Flash Recovery Image is still unselectable and when I click on Backup Recovery Image, I get Backup Failed: Could not run command.
     
  10. mich0020

    mich0020 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    4
    are you sure you put those files in the root of the sd card? And, don't put anything in the blank section initially. Do that after you click on Backup recovery image.
     
  11. NoNeck

    NoNeck Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    I finally figured it out!! Like a ****, I installed the FlashRec v112 by mistake and couldnt get v113 to install because v112 was already installed on my phone. I went into the mangae apps and deleted the v112 and installed v113. All the other steps are going through. About to load fresh 1.1. Thanks for your imput and will post how it goes. its always the small things.
     
  12. durandetto

    durandetto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    7
    I dled prekitchen and the auto root patch, but when I went to root I got a $h!t ton of errors most of which had something to do with a lack of memory or something along those lines. Anyone else experience this? What did you do to fix It?
     
  13. 702DROID

    702DROID Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    22
    did you check and see if it would load into recovery some time that memeory error happens and it still works
     
  14. NoNeck

    NoNeck Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well that did indeed fix the problem. I got the fresh 1.1 on there and LOVING IT!! Dude my phone is going so damn much faster. Thanks again everyone for the help.
     
  15. mich0020

    mich0020 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    4
    Glad u finally got it. enjoy!
     
  16. DFRESH

    DFRESH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    39
    Nice! Trust me, Fresh 1.1. ROM is the best ROM out there right now IMO...
     
  17. durandetto

    durandetto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    7
    I just did the power and volume down key thing and a white screen with green writing popped up with with the options of <VOL UP> FastBoot Mode, <BACK> Simlock, <HOME> Recovery. Does that meen I'm rooted? Well, I hit <HOME> and now the boot screen with hTc came up and its just stuck on that screen. Did I just erase my phone or what?:confused::confused:
     
  18. durandetto

    durandetto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    7
    Anyone????
     
  19. durandetto

    durandetto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    7
    Well I couldn't wait any longer so I just pulled the battery and turned the phone back on and everything is fine, thankfully. What is the proper way to boot the phone to check if you're rooted?
     
  20. 702DROID

    702DROID Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    22
    hold the home button and power on the phone .....or you can get the app QUICK BOOT and select recovery from its options
     
  21. durandetto

    durandetto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    7
    How long does it you usually take to reboot into recovery mode?
     
  22. 702DROID

    702DROID Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    22
    seconds
     
  23. durandetto

    durandetto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    7
    I must not be rooted, because when I do this it just hangs at the hTc boot screen until I pull the battery.
     
  24. 702DROID

    702DROID Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    22
    download a terminal emulator from the market open it up you should see $ sign ...if so type in "su" and hit enter if it gives you an error you do not have root access if it changes to a # sign then you have root access...if you cant access your recovery img try to reflash the image you can do it from that terminal on the phone if the recovry img is on your sd card
     
  25. durandetto

    durandetto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    7
    The # sign came up. Should I just redo the auto root? I did it with the old version for the "with google" phone, should I try doing it with out checking the box?
     

Share This Page

Loading...