Need home screen shortcut to turn data on/offSupport

Last Updated: 2012-05-22 00:02:19
  1. JayAaroBe

JayAaroBe Member

Hi everyone, I'm new to Android but so far I love it! I just got the Droid Bionic and most things work perfectly, but there's one thing I can't figure out that's frustrating me. On my home screen, I have been able to add an icon that toggles WiFi on/off with a simple click. I want the same thing but with the "data enabled" setting but I can't figure out how to do it.

The reason is that I often times need to turn my data connection on/off for various reasons (save battery or not consume too much data, etc.).

The long and time-consuming way of enabling/disabling data is: Settings>Battery & data manger>Data delivery>Data enabled (check/uncheck).

There has to be a way to add shortcut to the home screen just like the WiFi toggle. But I tried adding a shortcut to "settings>..." and there is no option to add a shortcut for the "Data enabled" setting.

I imagine there are others like me who have encountered the same problem. Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks.
    :)

EDIT: I resolved the issue. See my post below (post # 12) for more details.

Advertisement
  2. UncleMike

UncleMike Well-Known Member

3. bulla16

bulla16 Active Member

Add the Power Control widget to your home screen. It toggles WiFi, Data, Display Brightness, GPS, and Bluetooth in a simple little tool. Very easy and always on the home screen that way.
    johnlgalt likes this.
  4. MechGator

MechGator Member

The Power Control Widget has an Auto-Sync toggle but not a Data Delivery toggle. I also want to be able to completely sever the mobile data. If you toggle off the Auto-Sync it doesn't disable all data traffic.

I use Data Enabler Widget by farproc. Works perfect. Simple toggle on/off. Just like I had with my Eris/Sense.. Don't know why it isn't stock like other toggles.
    JayAaroBe and bulla16 like this.
  5. bulla16

bulla16 Active Member