Need input. I am rather confused.


Last Updated:

  1. Haxcid

    Haxcid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    29
    Ok. I followed the directions for the leaker root. I think it went fine. I can boot into the recovery rom that allows me to flash, wipe, etc...

    I then flashed the engtools.zip

    is there anything else I need to do?

    I tried mounting the system from adb shell but I get the $ prompt not the #. I was gonna remove some apps.

    I did install screenshot program and it works, it asked for root and it takes screenshots to the sdcard.

    am I rooted? do I have anything else I need to do?

    Thanks,

    H.
     

    Advertisement
  2. AdrianC14

    AdrianC14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    62
    I know this doesn't directly answer you question, but what screenshot program are you using?
     
  3. DDustiNN

    DDustiNN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    63
    At the $ prompt, try the command "su" (Super User) and it should change it to a # I believe.
     
  4. cornbreadfarts

    cornbreadfarts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    21
    correct. and if that doesn't work, you're not rooted
     
  5. Haxcid

    Haxcid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    29
    su does not work in the adb shell. However I have the su apk installed and it works so apps can do things. Like I said I have a screenshot utility installed and it works fine and it requires SU.
     
  6. BabyBacon

    BabyBacon Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    alright this wasnt explained very well in the post describing how to do it.

    after you exploit the chmod and get recovery on your phone you are NOT rooted. you have to flash a rom with root in order to get root on your phone. all that process does is give you the recovery menu.
     
  7. Papadroid

    Papadroid VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    281
    When using adb and you type su you must click allow on your phone.
     
  8. Haxcid

    Haxcid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    29
    I think you are correct. I installed android terminal and I can get super user access. When working in adb shell I never thought of looking at my phone to see if I was getting prompted.
     
  9. Haxcid

    Haxcid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    29
    I did. I flashed engtools.zip.
     
  10. BabyBacon

    BabyBacon Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wasnt aware engtools was a rom. I appologize.
     
  11. thenestor

    thenestor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    316
    I think engtools is still missing some files that make it possible to accomplish root-y things through ADB.
     
  12. Haxcid

    Haxcid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    29
    I am looking for a rom to load but it needs to fit these requirements.

    I would like it with out sense, however:
    1. Need Facebook to work
    2. need the default address book (people)/calendar.
    3. Default web browser
    4. Default SMS/MMS/mail apps/Alarm clock (alarm is a must)
    5. Needless apps removed like amazon, stocks, etc.

    Thanks for any suggestions
     
  13. Papadroid

    Papadroid VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    281
    engtools.zip is missing busybox. In order to get busybox just download titanium backup and hit menu then problems and it will install busybox for you.
     
  14. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    This would be Tainted Vanilla 1.4 and it is VERY FAST.
     

Share This Page

Loading...