• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Need phone for US & other countries

vpelton

Dec 28, 2009
I'm a newbie on this subject so need basic info. I've read all about sim cards & cdma/gsm but all the info assumes a basic level of understanding that I don't have. I need the basics.

I live in the US (using Verison) & will be travelling to Brazil & want to upgrade my Android phone so wanted one that will work all over the world (or at least many countries). I was told to get a "global" phone (like the [FONT=&quot]droid 2 global[/FONT]) since it works on both cdma & gsm. I was told that's all I should be concerned about. But this guy said there were only 5 such phones for the Verizon service & 3 were not made any more.

But what does the sim card have to do with anything? Somehow I need a sim card for a specific country? If I bought a sim card for a country, will it work in any phone with a sim slot? Do I still have to be concerned about cdma/gsm?

Summary: I live in the US using Verizon & want to travel with my phone. What do I have to look for in a new phone so it will work in many countries?

Basically, a quad-band or penta-band GSM phone will work almost anywhere for calls and SMS. The problem will be data. The US uses a different 3G network from the rest of the world, and in some countries, CDMA networks do not exist.

Check this link for example, the international version of the Galaxy S III:
Samsung I9300 Galaxy S III - Full phone specifications

You will see these numbers at the top:
2G Network GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
3G Network HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100

Those represent the frequency bands that the phone operates in. Basically, a carrier network like TMobile must have the same frequencies as the phone operates in so that it can work.

You can check here:
GSM World Coverage Map- GSM Country List by frequency bands