Need post-Root instructions


Last Updated:

  1. Musky

    Musky Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,830
    Likes Received:
    369
    Thanks to the great thread "Simple unrEVOked 3 rooting for stock Incredible or Evo on 2.2" (Thanks Dan!) many of us with varying degrees of knowledge have been able to root. But now from what I read, some of us, Me included are a little "left in the lurch".

    What do we do now to start using root tools like Titanium? When I try it says "can't acquire root" "Be sure busyboy is installed"

    Is there some setting we need to turn on in the HBoot menu to enable Titanium or any other program to have supervisor rights?

    Please help if you can!
     

    Advertisement
  2. fortesquieu

    fortesquieu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    144
    You will need Busybox to be installed before you can use Titanium. You can get it from the market.
     
    Musky likes this.
  3. jamor

    jamor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    761
    When you first run it you’ll get an error message about not having root, and needing BusyBox. Clear that message and click the button on the bottom called, “Problems?” then select “Yes, do it.” This will install BusyBox. Titanium Backup requires the phone to be in USB Debugging mode (which you turned on at the beginning of this process). Allow any Superuser requests.

    -JonAmerica

    For more post-root 'stuff':

    http://www.jonamerica.com/technology/howto-root-the-htc-droid-incredible/
     
    Musky likes this.
  4. Musky

    Musky Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,830
    Likes Received:
    369
    Thanks to both of you, that did the trick!

    Titanium makes it easy to get rid of the bloatware, but it can't seem to remove "Amazon MP3" it says it can't find the app. Any suggestions?
     
  5. jamor

    jamor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    761
  6. Musky

    Musky Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,830
    Likes Received:
    369
  7. CREVZ21

    CREVZ21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    8
    you could always get the donation version of titanium and freeze it.
     
  8. Terabethia

    Terabethia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    311
    Titanium didn't work for me either... at least not at first. It was weird because Amazon was the ONLY app it wouldn't remove. So I froze it instead.

    Then I went to the market and was able to uninstall it from there of all places.

    Not sure what was happening, all I know is it's gone now.
     
  9. CREVZ21

    CREVZ21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    8
    Amazon removed for me I couldn't remove skype
     
  10. Musky

    Musky Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,830
    Likes Received:
    369
    My AMazon MP3 won't even come off when I use the "cmd" method:

    I get an error trying the second command, on the "odex" file.

    Amazon is still running in the background on my phone!

    I may have to use nuclear weapons! :mad:
     
  11. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,067
    Likes Received:
    8,534
    You didn't by chance take those instructions too literally when typing the commands did you? The (2.2) is just for reference purposes to show it's new stuff we didn't see on 2.1. The original post is here:
    http://androidforums.com/incredible...ng-removing-apps-including-2-2-here-list.html

    So it'd be:

    mv /system/app/amazonmp3.apk /system/app.disabled/
    mv /system/app/amazonmp3.odex /system/app.disabled/


    Sorry if I over-reached here, just wanted to be sure.
     
  12. Musky

    Musky Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,830
    Likes Received:
    369
    No, I didn't include the "2.2" but it was a reasonable question! LOL :D
     
  13. wayrad

    wayrad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177
    Likes Received:
    148
    What are the relative merits of deleting bloatware with Titanium versus disabling it and moving it to another directory as in the jonamerica link above? We can always get back to stock by reflashing with PB31IMG.zip, right? Is there some reason why this is undesirable, or did the method just not exist when the jonamerica instructions were written? And is "freezing" with Titanium the same as disabling by those instructions?
     

Share This Page

Loading...