Need some advice from DInc owners...General


Last Updated:

  1. WormDoes

    WormDoes Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    1,270
    Hey Everyone,

    I have an Eris and I'm pretty happy with it as I've only had it a couple months (got from a friend who got an EVO) I'm sitting on an upgrade and I'm thinking of getting a free Inc from Best Buy tomorrow. I was originally going to sit on my upgrade and wait for the Inc HD or the new LTE phones coming early 11. I've heard that the Inc HD isn't LTE ready so I'd probably be waiting for LTE. I really wanted an Inc when it was released over the summer but I wasn't due for an upgrade and I ended up getting my Eris which has done me quite nicely.

    My questions to you happy Inc owners are:

    Will the Inc ever become obsolete (anytime soon) like the Eris has?
    How easy is it to root? IE: is there a 1 click method like the Eris has
    Is the battery life really as bad as everyone says?
    How much better is it than the Eris?

    I've had bad luck when upgrading to new phones in the past and gotten stuck with a phone that sucks or becomes out dated months after owning. If you could get any phone right now would you or would you wait for the newer generation of phones that should be rolling out at the beginning of the year?

    Thanks in advance for helping me decide :D
     

    Advertisement
  2. hrbib21

    hrbib21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    34
    Everything becomes "obsolete". However, if something is working the way you want and you're happy with it, what difference does it make?

    Battery life, IMO, is at least slightly better than the Eris (I upgraded from one a month ago).

    How much better...You're talking about a Ferrari vs. a Smart car.

    If you're in a major metropolitan area, I'd probably wait for LTE. If not, go for the DInc because it will be a while before LTE is everywhere.
     
  3. WormDoes

    WormDoes Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    1,270
    Thanks for the advice! Do you know if all Inc's come pre-loaded with 2.2 now? I'm a huge sense UI fan and have been running xtrSENSE since the day I rooted. If 2.2 isn't pre-loaded I'll probably stick with my Eris. Also, have you rooted your Inc? I'm trying to figure out how easy it is to do. If it wasn't for the 1 Click method on the Eris I don't think I ever would have rooted. I'm familiar and comfortable with flashing ROM's and zips but beyond that I'm pretty nervous to mess around with stuff. Especially because I'll void my warranty and could be stuck with a brand new bricked Inc.
     
  4. hrbib21

    hrbib21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    34
    I haven't rooted. Just don't see a reason to because I love the phone as is.

    AFAIK they are all coming with 2.2. I know for sure mine did.
     
  5. WormDoes

    WormDoes Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    1,270
    How is the customization with it being stock? Can you still make it custom IE: Circle battery, custom notification bar, fonts, installing apks etc?
     
  6. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,065
    Likes Received:
    8,531
    Well it's no longer stock once you root it really. :D

    The Incredible has a lot of custom Roms, themes and mods. Since you said you were good with installing roms/zips, you're in. You can always revert to stock using the 2.2 RUU or by flashing a stock derived PB31IMB.zip in hboot.
     
  7. WormDoes

    WormDoes Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    1,270
    I was asking if its possible to customize the Inc without rooting. It seems like you're familiar with rooting, is it safe to assume you have rooted your Inc? How easy is it to do? I'm not comfortable running scripts or anything & wouldn't have rooted my Eris if not for the 1 click method. Is there anything similar for the Inc? When rooted does the Inc have a recovery mode like the Eris where you can make nandroids, do wipes & flash zips?
     
  8. hgoldner

    hgoldner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    39
    I want to reiterate what was said above, if you are in an area with LTE, wait for the Incredible HD. I would never replace a phone in late October early November. The manufacturers always roll out the "newer and better" for the Holidays, or at or near CES in January.
     
  9. WormDoes

    WormDoes Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    1,270
    Thanks, but, I mentioned LTE in my OP. I'm well aware of it and, not trying to be a jerk, your post didn't even attempt to answer any of my questions. Thanks anyways
     
  10. euph_22

    euph_22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,634
    Likes Received:
    595
    I thought the Incredible HD didn't support LTE. But I could be wrong...
     
  11. WormDoes

    WormDoes Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    1,270
    Yea, I heard that as well
     
  12. WormDoes

    WormDoes Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    1,270
    So I ended up getting a Inc and I'm loving it so far. My question now is can I take my old SD card(8mb came stock with Eris) and put that in my Inc? I'm going to erase some ROM's and such but just wanted to make sure that was kosher before I started

    Also, I ran backup assistant and didn't realize my gmail had already synched all my contacts so now I have double contatcs for EVERY contact. Is there a way I can remove the contacts that BA synched?
     
  13. jayhawkfan18

    jayhawkfan18 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    In case you are still wondering - yes there is a one click root method from Unrevoked for the Incredible. It is a very easy process that I have done myself.

    It should be no problem for you to use the 8mb card from your Eris in your new Incredible.

    As far as the contacts go, you may want to remove your gmail address, delete all of the contacts, then re-add your gmail address and you should be good to go. I don't use backup assistant since it will sync automatically with my gmail account.

    Hope this helps.
     
  14. WormDoes

    WormDoes Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    1,270
    I'd rather keep my contacts on my phone through gmail. Do you think If I factory reset the phone and re-added my gamil, minus syncing the stupid BA, that would solve my problem?

    Thanks for answering about the 1 click method! I'm going to look into it. Honestly this phone is so awesome as is I don't know if I'll even want to root it
     
  15. WormDoes

    WormDoes Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    1,270
    Does anyone know if factory resetting my Inc will solve my double contacts that resulted from gmail and backup assistant syncing together? It's not a huge problem but it's pretty annoying seeing all my contatcs names twice. Thanks everyone
     
  16. hrbib21

    hrbib21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    34
    FYI: You might consider selling your Eris on Ebay. I got $150 for mine...
     
  17. WormDoes

    WormDoes Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    1,270
    I put mine on craigslist asking 150 as well. If I don't get any nibbles I'm going to ebay next. I payed 70 for the phone originally so doubling my money and getting a better phone in the process sounds great to me
     
  18. dragonsamus

    dragonsamus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    21
    if youre happy with the eris then you should save the upgrade and wait for an lte device.
     
  19. WormDoes

    WormDoes Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    1,270
    I did save my upgrade and still got an Inc. I used one of the upgrades on my family share and was still able to keep my NE2 and get the Inc for free. Win win situation all around
     
  20. itbedave

    itbedave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    24

    You might try going into Settings>Applications>Contacts Storage and clear data there, then let your contacts resync.
     
    WormDoes likes this.
  21. WormDoes

    WormDoes Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    1,270
    Thanks you! It worked! Now my only issue is I can't get Backup Assistant to stop syncing. I've gone into accounts & sync & there's no way to turn off auto sync. Stupid VZW!
     
  22. rtm0004

    rtm0004 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    9
    1 click root = unrevoked
     
  23. WormDoes

    WormDoes Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    1,270
    Yea I figured I could just delete Backup Assistant if I root but this phone is so awesome as is I'm not sure I want to root. Does anyone know a way to stop BA from syncing without rooting? As always, thanks in advance :)
     
  24. jayhawkfan18

    jayhawkfan18 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    once in accounts and sync option in settings you should see Backup Assistant under the "manage accounts" section. just click on it and you should be able to disable it. the little green "sync" arrow should grey out and you should be all set.
     
  25. WormDoes

    WormDoes Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    1,270
    I've tried that and it doesn't work. Right now I have it set to sync between 12a-6a. I turn mobile network and sync off when I go to sleep so this has worked well. I was I could just remove it without being rooted but it doesn't seem like thats an option
     

Share This Page

Loading...