Need some help with switching roms


Last Updated:

  1. Haywire

    Haywire Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey Guys, I'm currently running cynagen 5.062, but I want to switch roms to something thats overclocked, I'm thinking at least to 1GHZ. Can someone suggest a rom for me?

    Also, how do I go about installing the new rom? I don't have the use of rom manager yet so I need a little step by step with doing it on my pc. Do I need to use RSD lite to do this? or do I just save the rom file on my sd card on my computer?

    Do I need to do anything to the rom file (ie unzipp it rename it whatever)

    Thanks in advance. I've been wanting to really overclock it (i've got it at 600ghz right now thanks to overclock widget) but haven't been able to mess with it without my laptop.. But I've got it back and I'm ready, just need some guidance.

    Thanks again!
     

    Advertisement
  2. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    305
    You don't need to switch roms to overclock.... That is all done via kernels... Do a search and you will be able to find a ton of them.

    Since you are on CM I would suggest heading over to the CM forums and checking out Bekits' kernels, they are made for CM...
     
  3. Haywire

    Haywire Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm thinking the kernels would be a little more techincal then what I can handle.. Wouldn't a new rom just be easier to do?

    Edit: Can you help me find a 1.1 kernel, how do I go about installing it onto my phone?
     
  4. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,290
    Likes Received:
    825
    just download rom manager from the market (Free version will work fine) Once in rom manager flash clockworkmod recovery the press menu then settings. Then check the box for advanced mode. Then download rom then cyanogenmod then either p3 or bekit kernels.

    You will need setcpu for the to set the speed though. Its on the market
     
  5. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,290
    Likes Received:
    825
    if you switch roms you will still need a new kernel to oc
     
  6. Haywire

    Haywire Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    1
    Rom managers not letting me flash into ClockworkModRecovery.. Is there a way I can uninstall rom manger and install it again? I went into app manager but where it looks like you would delete it the only the there is delete updates.. Will that uninstall rom manager? It's worked before (the recovery mode I mean)

    It gives me error occured while flashing your recovery.. What gives?
     
  7. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,290
    Likes Received:
    825
    Probably need to update to the latest version of rom manager
     
  8. Haywire

    Haywire Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    1
    Updated it and it gives me the yellow progress bar but still gives me the same message :-(
     
  9. mcapozzi

    mcapozzi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    35
  10. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,290
    Likes Received:
    825
    Haywire likes this.
  11. mcapozzi

    mcapozzi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    35
    Oh! Why doesn't he just download the ROM he wants, put it on the SD card and do a wipe/flash from recovery???

    Sometimes the easy way is more convoluted than the "hard" way...

    -Mike
     
  12. Haywire

    Haywire Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    1
    I thought rom manager was the easy way.. I already have a rom I want downloaded, but they're trying to get me to use a different kernel of cynagen. I was going to use bugless beast 1.1 verison.. but I dunno. I just tried clearing the cache and it STILL isn't working..
     
  13. mcapozzi

    mcapozzi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    35
    I did a BB 1.0 install the other day by doing a wipe and flash via the clockwork recovery and it was a breeze.

    Couldn't be simpler.

    The hardest (scariest) part of rooting a Droid is using RSDLite to put the SPRecovery on.

    -Mike
     
  14. Haywire

    Haywire Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    1
    *SMH* I already did that... I just want to switch to an overclocked rom..
     
  15. mcapozzi

    mcapozzi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    35
    Haywire likes this.
  16. Haywire

    Haywire Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you, sir! Now, I haven't used a kerenel or anything like that yet.. when I put it on my sd card how do I save it? also, I need to install it using the power off holding x, right?
     
  17. mcapozzi

    mcapozzi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    35
    The kernel should arrive as a signed zip, similar to an entire ROM.

    Of course since it is just a kernel, it will be much smaller 2-3MB.

    And you are correct. boot into recovery (power + x) and flash the zip file, no wiping necessary.

    Make a backup first, in case the new kernel and your phone don't get along.

    -Mike
     
  18. Haywire

    Haywire Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    1
    Cool, do I need to rename the kernel to update.zip or just put it on the sd card? (just wanna cover my bases.) Thanks again.
     
  19. mcapozzi

    mcapozzi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    35
    With SPRecovery you need to rename it, with Clockwork Recovery, you don't.

    -Mike
     
  20. Haywire

    Haywire Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    1
    Okay, once I let it do it's thing, how can I check and make sure It installed right? I think I just put a 1200 kerenel on but I have no way of knowing (thanks for helping a noob learn the ropes)

    Edit: if it says 1200 at the end of the kerenel version I'm guessing it was succsessful?

    So, now that it's overclocked what are some things I can expect? I know it will increase the cpu and all that but will it help web pages and everything else load faster?

    Stoked if I got this to work right..

    Thanks for the assistance all!
     
  21. mcapozzi

    mcapozzi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    35
    Install SetCPU and see what it says.

    When running SetCPU for the first time, don't select the device manually, just tell it to detect settings.

    -Mike

    Also it should appear in Menu -> Settings -> About Phone

    Mine says 2.6.29-omap1-bekit-0.8.3-7x1000LV.
     

Share This Page

Loading...