• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Need some startup help..

guthrie

Feb 4, 2011
I am new to Android, with my Samsung Captivate Galaxy S phone, but coming from iPhone, miss several things.

I want to know if they are truly missing, or just that I don't yet know how to do them.

1) Lack of an integrated PC based interface - "no iTunes".
- I guess I understand by now that this is just missing.
2) Email - not able to browse folder hierarchy.
- I start in the inbox, but want to go to another folder, by going up one level to the folders view.
I do see a huge list of names across the top, but many I don't recognize
- is this a flattened list of folders? If so - what a poor User interface!
3) Email search - fails
- again, is this just for the current folder?
- Exchange mail clients give partial results for a current folder, and then the option to search all folders.
4) File transfer:
- is there an easier way to move files via WiFi compared to having to hookup and mount device as a USB disk?
- How can I save an Email attachment file locally?
- conversely, how can I send a local file by Email as an attachment?
5) Media libraries - iTunes has a huge library of media and podcasts, iTunes University lectures, TED, etc.
- any of this for the Android world?

Thanks for any pointers.

I am also surprised that many of my favorite games are missing - (Scrabble, Boggle, ...).
[Yes, I saw the "rip-off" cheap clones.]

And no easy backup?
I did see Sprite, but the reviews were terrible, and sending it to DropBox is fine for small things, but I've got 8G on the phone with music and files. This is neither practical or frugal to try to do to the cloud. And it is not an incremental backup.

Doesn't sound as if you like Android very much. Pray, why did you switch?

I am new to Android, with my Samsung Captivate Galaxy S phone, but coming from iPhone, miss several things.