Need to return 2 week old "rooted" phone back to Best Buy


Last Updated:

  1. ejpyle

    ejpyle Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    6
    Alright I realized my headset jack is not working on my Sprint htc hero. Also it takes about 2 second from the time I slide the thingy down to answer a call before they come on. I have rooted it though nothing past that.....no flashing or anything. I have task killer on it and it has done a great job up until today. The phone just runs sluggish. I am taking it in to exchange it for another one because of the headset jack....would Sprint try to see if it is rooted or would they just exchange it? would I be a moron to get the Moment (I talk on the phone all day for work) or should I just get the Pre and assume the Hero's are all going to be this way.....


    I already am waiting for Nexus one to come to Sprint...which will be soon.
     

    Advertisement
  2. chfields

    chfields Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    5
    You are taking a chance, if they find out you rooted they can deny the return.
     
  3. ejpyle

    ejpyle Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    6
    Would a hard reset mess me up? Is there a way to "unroot" before I take it back?
     
  4. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    RUU will unroot, check the rooting guide.

    Very few people have problems with the headphone jack. It was an issue before the maintenance release, but not anymore.

    It shouldn't be sluggish either. In fact, it's entirely possible that the task killer was causing your sluggishness over time. They aren't good for your phone in the long run.
     
  5. ejpyle

    ejpyle Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    6
    So you recommend I uninstall the task killer? I bought this less than 2 weeks ago so I am sure I would have had the maintenance release installed.
     
  6. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    You can check for a firmware update (menu>settings>about phone>system updates>firmware update) to be sure that you have the MR installed.

    Also, a hard reset will not return you back to unrooted condition. You have to run the RUU for that.
     
  7. ejpyle

    ejpyle Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    6
    cant do it...i am running 64 win 7 ultimate...
    it errors when installing htsync
     
  8. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    It WILL work with win7(64bit). I had to download the RUU something like 6 times to get it to work correctly.
     
  9. creglenn

    creglenn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    7
    I bought my phone at bestbuy and I have returned it 3 times. They dont check to see if it is rooted. Everytime I have told them that I was having a battery problem or a screen issue and they would just note the system and exchange it. As long as you are in your 30 day period you are fine and guess what with best buy anytime you xchange your phone your 30 days resets. Thats why i keep exchanging so my 30 days will reset until the supersonic comes out that way I can swap my hero and pay maybe $100 more to get it. Plus ill have 30 more days.
     
  10. ejpyle

    ejpyle Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    6
    i have the most updated firmware...there were none available when i did an update
    would this mean that the SMS battery drain would be fixed for me as well? I use handcent right now as I thought that would save on battery consumption
     
  11. creglenn

    creglenn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yea it does work you gotta make sure you turn off your virus software cause im on windows 7 ultimate
     
  12. ejpyle

    ejpyle Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    6
    I got it to install. Thanks for the help. I am going to research to see if there is a way to fix the headset jack.
     
  13. oldjackbob

    oldjackbob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    12
    If you haven't done this yet, reboot the phone (power off, then back on) without anything plugged into the headset jack. Then see if the jack works. Also, make sure that your headphones are working! ;)
     
  14. ejpyle

    ejpyle Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    6

    I have tested them and they work on my daughters ipod....

    it seems like this phone starts to do weird things when I have it connected to the computer charging.
     
  15. pierceNKC

    pierceNKC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Careful with that...I'm not sure how Best Buy works, but Sprint will only allow so many of those. After that, you're SOL.
     
  16. ejpyle

    ejpyle Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    6

    Good point, Sprint stores and Telesales will remove your upgrade eligibility....they did that to me for just 2 exchanges. I heard it does not work that way though with Best Buy.
     
  17. creglenn

    creglenn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    7
    The thing is sprint can only controll the service or any phones you buy through them. Thy cant control a phone bought through best buy. Cause if they could then when you buy a tv from best buy then samsung can say no returns. But they cant do that cause best buy bought the products from them and are selling it.
     
  18. acp

    acp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    71

    wow no good samaritan response to this yet? I expected at least one person to say something like "hey buddy you are the evil and stuff, thanks for raising the phone prices for everyone else"
     
  19. ejpyle

    ejpyle Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    6

    acp - karma, I am leaving it to karma. it would be pointless to say he is something when ultimately he will still continue to do what he is doing. someone will open their eyes to it and call him out one day. they will eventually put a stop to it, the question though is when?


    no soup for you!!! (That is my all-time favorite episode)
     
  20. creglenn

    creglenn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    7
    Lol!
     
  21. bcrtj457

    bcrtj457 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0

    my headset jack stopping working too. i downloaded some third party app to toggle the headset and all is working again.

    toggleheadset - Project Hosting on Google Code

    hope that helps.
     
  22. ejpyle

    ejpyle Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thx...I wish it would just work...I realized since hard resetting it has worked a total of ONE time....makes no sense.
     
  23. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    I seem to remember a thread about this. IIRC, If you turn on the phone with the headphones plugged in, they don't (or may not) work. Turning the phone on with the headphones unplugged, then plug them in and then they work. Try this, as I don't use headphones with my Hero.

    see post #5
    http://androidforums.com/sprint-htc-hero/48551-hero-not-recognizing-headphones.html
     
  24. a1platnum

    a1platnum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sry, but some people are truly idiots.
     
  25. ejpyle

    ejpyle Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yeah well it would make the world spin smoother if we knew who was the idiot.
     

Share This Page

Loading...