• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root need to root. need suggestions.

thedamon

Mar 6, 2011
I just purchased a (used) ally. I am planning on putting it on PagePlus Cellular. I will be limited to 20mb of data, so I want to use data only for picture messages and voice to text.

I am looking for a root, a stable rom (velocity 1.0 sounds best), and droid wall to control data.

Currently the ally is v2.1, Kernel v2.6.29, SW v VS740ZVC, Baseband version VS740MVC.5210.1015. Computer running Windows xp sp2.

I have some experience with rooting (my Nook Color). I have read through many of the posts on rooting.

Should I use z4root (savoxis.com) or Trident (and others) 2.2.1 guide, or what? Do I need to update or set back my phone ([GUIDE][LGNPST] Alternate V6 Restore Method is now gone)?

Any help or advise is welcomed. Thanks.

I just purchased a (used) ally. I am planning on putting it on PagePlus Cellular. I will be limited to 20mb of data, so I want to use data only for picture messages and voice to text.

I am looking for a root, a stable rom (velocity 1.0 sounds best), and droid wall to control data.

Currently the ally is v2.1, Kernel v2.6.29, SW v VS740ZVC, Baseband version VS740MVC.5210.1015. Computer running Windows xp sp2.

Any help or advise is welcomed. Thanks.

I think the best way to get to velocity for you would be http://androidforums.com/ally-all-t...-3-2011-3-40-pm-est-now-easier-than-ever.html the new improved download will give you the option of installing stock Froyo rooted or Velocity.
20MB data isn't much at all for a Android Phone. Good luck with that & let us know how its working in a month or two if you will.:)

Upvote 0
I think the best way to get to velocity for you would be http://androidforums.com/ally-all-t...-3-2011-3-40-pm-est-now-easier-than-ever.html the new improved download will give you the option of installing stock Froyo rooted or Velocity.