NetCounter isn't tracking 3G usage?


Last Updated:

  1. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    122
    Hi everyone, I just got my Droid yesterday and I installed the NetCounter app so I could track how much data I'm using. So just to test out how it works, I downloaded an app over Wi-Fi, and the number went up. Okay, fair enough. Now I see a "Cell" and "Wi-Fi" section so I figure "Cell" is 3G. And it says 0B used for that. So I disconnected my Wi-Fi, the 3G icon showed up in the corner of the screen, and I went to download another app just for the sake of this test. But when I went back to NetCounter, it still said 0B. How can I track my non-WiFi data usage on this phone? Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Carl C

    Carl C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,062
    Likes Received:
    38
    Hi their and Welcome to the Forums! :D

    Try 3G watchdog instead and see if that successfully tracks your 3G data usage. After installation It's worth re-starting the phone before testing it :)
     
  3. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    122
    It's called 3G Watchdog? I can't find it at all. Searching "watchdog" in the market gets me no results and I spelled it correctly.
     
  4. rezajune

    rezajune Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    10
    couldn't find it anywhere on android market. Scanned a QR code online and still couldn't find it. I need it too before verizon kicks me off
     
  5. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    You can also check your monthly data usage via the "My Verizon" app, or rather it's just a link. You can find it in the "Verizon" tab in the marketplace.
     
  6. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    122
    My Verizon app just gives me "MDN Error: The system was unable to process your request, please call Customer Service at *611 for further assistance." This is odd, why isn't anything working for me? :(
     
  7. Carl C

    Carl C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,062
    Likes Received:
    38
    Sorry Guys I've just been Looking at the 3G watchdog and it says :

    Thats the reason it won't appear on the market as Its not compatible. Possibly NetCounter is the same and is not compatible yet either hence the OP's problem :(
     
  8. rezajune

    rezajune Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    10
    Thanks, just made myself a bookmark on the home screen to check data traffic
     
  9. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    122
    Oh, okay, thanks. Yeah, I realize it's very possible that many of these apps aren't available for the Droid because Android 2.0 just got released with it, essentially, so it's only a few days old and not all devs release a new version of their product as soon as the platform is upgraded (as a Windows 7 user, I know all about that :rolleyes:). Thank you! :)
     
  10. Carl C

    Carl C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,062
    Likes Received:
    38
    Thats a Good Idea OP ,

    Just wait till it updates and hopefully it should then be Ready to work with 2.0 & the Droid :)
     
  11. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    I got this last night too. Sometimes the service is down. Also, are you trying to access it with Wifi or 3G? There may be a script that checks to see where the request is coming from (not sure, just a theory).
     
  12. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    122
    Nah, I thought of the same thing, so after it didn't work on Wi-Fi, I tried it on 3G. No dice.
     

Share This Page

Loading...