New battery issue with CL14.... (no answers in search)Support


Last Updated:

  1. kenneyd

    kenneyd Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hey guys

    I got CL14 on the 19th after having my moment for a couple months.... yeah, they fixed the battery gauge!

    However, I got a new issue, a bad issue with CL14.
    I work at a job that is in a bomb proof area. I have always left my phone on in the area even though i usually get no service... sometimes one bar.
    The reason i leave the phone on is becuase sometimes im in there for 2 minutes, sometimes for 3 hours between breaks so with the long boot times it sucks turning on and off and and off (especially if im only in there a minute). I also cant switch it off while im in there since i would get in trouble for taking it out of my pocket... ANYWAY


    ...eveything had been fine until CL14, now when i go into that room with little service after about 1-2 hours the phone battery it totally dead. the phone is very hot to the touch as well. at first i though it was the screen was somehow on, but i have been checking it every few minutes and its not.

    Basically my hunch is something changed in the CPU useage when the phone is searching for service with the CL14 update that causes the battery to run out of juice (for real this time) very very fast.

    Any ideas? any setting i can change? most regular cells go into a "power save" mode when there is no service, the moment does not. any fixes or apps for that?



    Cliff notes:
    Cl05, battery gauge bad (duh), but no problem for months at my work with no service.
    CL14 installed now battery is being completely drained from full to shut down in 1-2 hours, in low/no service areas, phone getting very hot.
     

    Advertisement
  2. xxbbyxxgirlxx

    xxbbyxxgirlxx Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    14
    try reinstalling cl14? or go root =P
     
  3. nate f

    nate f Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I am in an area where there is spotty service I will put my phone in airplane mode which takes second to come out of when I know I'm back in a good service area. I notice the phone will search for data also and go in and out of roaming every ten seconds and makes a tone when doing so, very annoying. Airplane mode prevents this also.
     
  4. cds36

    cds36 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    2
    I m having the same problem I have the cl14 update, today it kept switching back from 1x to evdo and my signal was horrible, battery on lasted 2 1/2 to 3 hours max, I don't know what's going on with it called Sprint went thru a few steps "reset etc" and now there sending me a new phone well see what happens
     
  5. kenneyd

    kenneyd Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    5
    I have been using airplane mode today at work and its seems to be working, but a huge pain in the butt...although better then off/on off/on....

    this is stupid.
     
  6. numus

    numus Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    32
    Phone ramps power to the antenna (kinda like what scotty does to the transporter right?) anyway... does that when you are in a low signal area to maintain a connection..
     
  7. Pfury

    Pfury New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    same thing as mine i just noticed it last week though... not really ever since the update. but what did sprint say when you talked to them to get a new phone? oh and also i noticed according to my taskiller my memory is always at like 20m even after i kill everything
     
  8. kenneyd

    kenneyd Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    5

    Yah but its VASTLY different after the cl14 update. Im not joking, 1-2 hours from full charge to phone shutting down. before it was 18 hours +

    On the weekends now with CL14; when im not at work and in good service areas it stays in the green all day even with heavy use.
     
  9. meangene

    meangene Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    3
    This shows you that the battery is fine and if CL14 was causing a problem it would probably happen all the time. Being in bad reception areas sucks for the phone because it tries to boost antenna power (I think someone already said that a few posts earlier) to find signal. Add to this any attempted data usage (auto email checking etc),then mix in a bit of roaming and you have yourself a dead battery. I know if I forget to turn my wireless off my battery get drained in abour 6 hours (pre CL14, haven't tested it since).
     
  10. cds36

    cds36 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    2
    I called them twice on the same problem they had me do a few tests "reset the phone etc" when the problem still continued they just said they would send me a new one since it has a 1 year warranty. I asked if it was a refurbished one, and she stated no it is a brand new one. We shall see, I also pay for insurance on the phones so maybe that is why they are just sending me a new one
     
  11. itmike

    itmike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yeah I have the same problem at work. Though on my days off, my phone will go all day in the green as well. This normally happens with everyone's phone where I work at though. The only phone that doesn't do it is one of my ex co-workers with a boost mobile phone, he just got no service lol. Our palm pre demo phone lives on the charger. It will die in less than 48 hours if we don't charge, and that's if we don't touch it too show to a customer.
     
  12. Iforgit

    Iforgit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Have you tried a PRL update? Don't know if that will be beneficial to you. I personally didn't have any issues like this, but your phone will update after CL14. Some people were saying this was an issue for them until they updated. Besides that, only thing I could say was an actual airplane mode widget might make things easier. I have one called airplane wifi. It allows you to be able to use the wifi and cancel the actual digital service. Makes it kinda nice to still get data/emails and news in bad service areas if wifi is available.
     
  13. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,872
    Likes Received:
    556
    Two options.
    #1 use an airplane mode widget.
    #2 use Locale, and download an airplane mode plugin, AND the Phone State plugin that allows you to set a condition based on in-service/ out of service, roaming, etc.

    Using #2 will cost more, and it will not turn airplane mode off when you leave (because airplane mode inherently turns off your radio, thus locale will not be aware of when you regain signal). But it will prevent your battery from dying, even when you forget... just remember to turn airplane mode off once you leave.

    Edit: adding clarifications for #2

    If you go with option #2, I believe it will work best for you. However, be aware that the program Locale is $10 (though I find it extremely useful for many many situations), and the Phone State plugin will cost about another $1... and depending on the airplane mode widget that you choose, it will be free or cost $1. So you're looking at about a $12 price tag for option #2. But again, keep in mind that Locale has many many uses beyond your current situation. I believe you will also benefit greatly from combining the Astrid reminder plugin with locale.


    The only drawback that I can foresee for #2 is that if you tend to go in/out of service often, or at other times during the day, you may trigger airplane mode. However, this can be avoided if you set another condition to the airplane mode condition in locale. Such as a time schedule. That way you would only enable airplane mode if it was during a defined time of day AND you lost signal. Setting the scheduler would also allow Locale to automatically turn off airplane mode at a specified time of day.
     
  14. kenneyd

    kenneyd Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    5
    I will look into those options. PRL is up to date.

    Just suck since it never did this before and now it does so if i forget one time to switch to aiplane mode, my battery is dead.
     
  15. kenneyd

    kenneyd Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    5
    Update:
    Called sprint tech support, they didn't know about the issue, or any battery issue with the moment for that matter lol. I explained it and they quickly said they'd send out a new phone, I asked "new?" and they clarified, "well refurbished"
    I agrued politely for a few minutes and got no where, just a refurb.

    What they dont tell you, i actually had to pry this info out of the supervisor i was talking to, by doing this you are surrendering your warranty, samsung will not talk to you if you have a refurb. So i paid for new phone and a 1yr warranty, and im getting a refurb which is a store return or previously broken one instead.

    I agreed to it since they said if it doesn't work, i can send back either the refurb or my phone, I'll be sending back the refub in that case.
     
  16. NewAndroidUser

    NewAndroidUser Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    Surrendering your warranty? :confused: Can you explain this further please? I have never lost a warranty for replacing a defective phone under warranty.
     
  17. kenneyd

    kenneyd Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    5

    Your not buying a sprint phone, your buying a samsung phone. The purchase of a samsung phone includeds a warranty through samsung only for that specific serial number.
    By bypassing samsung, and using sprint tech support, you are required to send back the phone with the serial number on it that warrantied. Samsun will not warranty a refurbed phone that some other company (sprint) sent to you.
    Is that clear?

    Now yes if you go through samsung for warranty work, they will prolly warranty whatever they do. however, you have to send your phone if for testing etc....and i was told the turn around was many weeks.... I cant go a day with out a phone legally.
     

Share This Page

Loading...