New Beautiful Widgets update fixes weather update problemSupport


Last Updated:

  1. jdk33

    jdk33 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    37
    Just an FYI, there is a new version of Beautiful Widgets on the Market that fixes the weather update issue so many people have been reporting. Open the Market, hit the options button and go to "downloads", and you can update from there.


    Just got the update myself and among some other neat changes, the weather actually updates properly now.
     

    Advertisement
    jthacker, Cheeba, CEV and 1 other person like this.
  2. Travisimo

    Travisimo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    88
    Yay! My temp is no longer stuck on 90 degrees! :)
     
  3. mxsjw

    mxsjw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    171
    How do you search for these beautiful widgets? I am a newb...
     
  4. ECFfighter7232

    ECFfighter7232 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    336
    I was just coming here to post this lol. The update is nice too
     
  5. jdk33

    jdk33 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    37
    Just launch the Android Market and hit the magnifying glass icon - type in beautiful and I think beautiful widgets is the first thing that'll come up (or it'll be some porn, lol).. It's a paid app though so you will have to enter in credit card information to purchase it.
     
    mxsjw likes this.
  6. mxsjw

    mxsjw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    171
    Ah, so they ARE paid...I was doing it right then. For some reason I thought they were free. I suppose I'll have to start paying for some sooner or later...maybe after I get this Launcher Pro thing figured out.:eek:
     
  7. jdk33

    jdk33 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    37
    It's definitely worth the $0.99 (or whatever it is) just for the weather widget alone. The toggle widgets are nice too.

    I sort of cringed initially when buying an app too, but once you get your credit card info entered in it's so easy you'll be broke in no time :)
     
  8. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    32,920
    Likes Received:
    25,271
    Thank you, Gentlemen. You are the reason I love it here. :)
     
  9. mahers

    mahers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    164
    Anyone know what kind of battery drain BW uses?
     
  10. jdk33

    jdk33 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    37
    If you set it to update every 30 minutes or more, and use geolocation and not GPS location the battery drain should be negligible , but there will be some. Anything that updates in the background on a schedule is going to use some battery.
     
  11. tdse

    tdse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    16
    I have to admit I'm a bit frustrated with this app. The update fixes the temp (I was pretty sure it wasn't 89f @ 6am here), but now instead of showing a sun, it shows a moon. WTH? I tried different skins, and rebooting, but it's still a moon at 12:29pm (sunny & 82f).

    The other thing that bugs me (and maybe I'm missing something here), is if I want to change something (location, skin, etc.), I have to drag it to the trash, & re-select it, and re-enter *all* the settings. That's a pain. Am I missing something?
     
  12. BLOWNCO

    BLOWNCO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    22
    awesome i have weather again yay lol
     
  13. jdk33

    jdk33 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    37
    Haha... Don't know how to help you with the moon thing, but I can help you with the settings.


    Tap on the sun/moon and it should bring up a 3 day forecast screen. From there you can hit the options hard button the X and it'll take you into the configuration screen. Trust me, I did the whole trash routine a bunch of times before I found out about this.
     
    tdse likes this.
  14. speedbagger

    speedbagger Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone know how i can get beautiful widgets off 'authorizing purchase' and actually install?
     
  15. jdk33

    jdk33 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    37

    Usually when that happens I just cancel the download and try again.
     
  16. tdse

    tdse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    16
    Ah, very nice, thank you.

    I got the sun to shine ;-) Initially I had entered my zip code for the location setting. When I changed that to check 'Geolocation', my moon changed to a sun. LOL

    All back to normal. Appreciate the help.
     
    jdk33 likes this.
  17. speedbagger

    speedbagger Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0

    did that.

    and contacted the developer who refunded my purchase. and battery pulled. and hard reset. and cleared data/cache from every related program.

    still stuck on 'authorizing purchase'.
     
  18. urdaddi

    urdaddi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    15
    Dowloaded the new Beautiful Widgets. It still is not accurate......it is reporting a difference in temperature of 4 degrees - showing highr than it actually is.

    I can say that this was one of the most visually appealing widgets that I have seen since using my DroidX....but I am beyond frustration with it not reporting correctly.
     
  19. jdk33

    jdk33 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    37


    I just checked it against weatherbug and they're only 2 degrees off. Does it really make that much of a difference?

    All it really needs to say is "it's hot" .. I just like knowing a ballpark figure, it's not like knowing how hot it is to the exact degree is critical to anything I do. And it's the best looking weather widget :)
     
  20. tsanuri

    tsanuri Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    44
    Are you sitting at the offical weather station that is doing the reporting for you?
     
  21. urdaddi

    urdaddi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    15

    Yeah actually...being accurate does.

    I am not interested in being "close".

    Does it matter if your clock show 1:10 pm, or 1:30 pm....or is it ok if it just shows that it is after 1 pm in the afternoon?

    You are correct in that it is the best looking weather and clock widget...but I am not interested in using it if it is not correct. It is too bad that we cannot simply use the clock without the weather.
     
  22. jdk33

    jdk33 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    37
    That's a really poor comparison. When it's 1:10PM here it's 1:10PM 100 miles away. If I drive a mile down the road the temperature is going to be different. Temperature varies greatly by sampling location. "What time is it" is depicted by one source, the NIST in Colorado. Save for different timezones it's the same everywhere. There are a bunch of different sources where these different weather widgets and feeds pick up their info. The widget is just reporting whatever temperature is fed to it, sorry if it's not accurate enough for you.
     
  23. urdaddi

    urdaddi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    15

    So you agree that having the correct time being reported NO MATTER WHERE YOU ARE is something that you should expect?

    When I am at a SINGLE location, and several apps are reporting the same thing that I see being reported on my computer and the only one that is different is the BW, then yeah I think it is not accurate.
     
  24. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    I can drive 10 miles from where I live, in the same zip code, and there could be a temperature change of +/- 5 degrees. It also depends on what zip code you entered, some zip codes get their weather info from a nearby zip code if there isn't a weather station in said zip code.

    Comparing weather accuracy to time is no where near the same thing.
     
  25. jdk33

    jdk33 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    37
    No, but I agree that time isn't up to interpretation by the software reading it because it's a static value coming from a static source, whereas there are a bunch of different variables involved in reading and displaying the weather.


    And yeah, if you load up 3 apps that get their feed from the same source, of course they're all going to agree on the temperature. That doesn't make the 4th one wrong just because it gets its feed from a different source that measured a different value.
     

Share This Page

Loading...