New Droid Upgrade SUUUX!Support


Last Updated:

  1. jimt68

    jimt68 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have had to take out my battery more times since the last update than ever before. I am tired of my phone locking up, apps force closing, and complaining to developers who have no idea either about what the problem is. If this is Verizon's way of trying to get folks to upgrade to the Droid2, screw that! I would rather not renew my contract which I won't unless they fix this current issue. Sorry that I am frustrated but I have been missing and forgetting more things lately because this thing is not working. I cannot access my gallery, my music apps stop playing, task killers aren't killing apps, and apps that are supposedly force closed are still hanging in the drop down menu. Also my 3g arrows rarely light and every time a sync occurs activities freeze. Phone calls also cancel currently-being-used apps. Alarms also are not working properly. It's very annoying!
     

    Advertisement
  2. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    The fact that you have had to before indicates that all is not well with your phone to begin with.

    When I was not rooted I never had to take out the battery. Only after I rooted and started playing around on the phone, sometimes doing stupid things to it, did I ever have to remove he battery.

    All told, in 9 months of having this phone I have been forced to do a battery pull all of 5 times.

    And I have been on FroYo since June.

    I highly suggest that you grab the Master 2.2 update from Peter Alfonso and copy it to your SDCard and install it using the same instructions as found on the sticky http://androidforums.com/motorola-d...update-motrola-droid-frg01b-update-1-2-a.html

    I suspect that you've been upgraded to the previous OS as well, and as a computer professional for going on 20 years, I can tell you this - 2nd and particularly 3rd level upgrades rarely do well when you're talking about operating systems - sometimes the best thing is to clean install. Which is basically what that Master update does.
     
  3. jimt68

    jimt68 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have tried to install the update but for some reason, Astro won't let me paste the zip to root directory. It will let me copy it but when I am in the root dir, the paste option is not an option. It will let me paste it to the the mnt dir of SD but the update failed with it there. So I am assuming it HAS to be in the root dir in order to actually work. Any ideas why Astro won't let me paste the zip file to root dir?
     
  4. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    umm, not in the root of the phone - in he root of the SDCard.

    Most file managers show it as /SDCard

    The time you had it there was the correct place for it to be - but are you downloading it using your phone or downloading it using your computer?

    Reason I ask is that if you are using your computer, and you rename it to update.zip, but your file manager does not show extensions, then you are actually renaming it to update.zip.zip (the last .zip being hidden) and thus it is going to fail.

    However, if it gives you a verification fail, then it is possible that the file had an issue when downloading. In that case, download it again. And don't use a download manager.

    If you are using your phone to do this, then verify the MD5 sum of the file is 8AD9676B641C15711B2FD2E55A0036E7

    And, again, this is the one labeled as the master update from Peter Alfonso
     
  5. jimt68

    jimt68 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well the fourth attempt worked. I was downloading to the right directory all along. In fact to make it easier I changed the directory in xscope to download directly to /sdcard (just for this task). So the upgrade was "forced" and was successful, in terms of not making things worse. However, my gallery still does not work. But that hasn't worked since the update several months ago. Maybe my problem is still with Moozone, because that force closes a lot and it is after that when my whole phone starts acting up. Thanks for your help.
     
  6. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    I have never tried MooZone - but you might try uninstalling it for a week and seeing if your Gallery works after that - be sure to reboot your phone after uninstalling it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...