new firmware from samsung new pc studioSupport


Last Updated:

  1. spupuz

    spupuz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm just downloading the new firmware from samsung pc studio hope this can make my galaxy faster!! do you know the change logs?
     

    Advertisement
  2. spupuz

    spupuz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    This might sound stupid, but where's the download link for the new studio? I'm running 1H2 and when i go to update it says its the latest.

    When I try to update the galaxy it says it couldnt connect to the server

    EDIT: Ok so it only works for italian people. Also looking inside the main firmware file it is actually I7500ITVH2, so the same as the other one
     
  4. Erly

    Erly Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's not just for Italy, I'm from Spain and I could update too
     
  5. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    But what firmware did you have before? Did it begin I7500TVI?
    and what do you have now? Does that also begin I7500TVI?

    Interestingly UK O2 users are reporting they receive I7500XXIH6

    I'm going to use odin to go back to the german build and check in PC stuite. Will keep you posted :)
     
  6. Erly

    Erly Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, it was my fault, I received today the phone and after two hours trying to connect the galaxy to the NPS i thought the update i received was I7500XXIH7 but it is I7500XXIG8. I'm gonna try again to see if I receive a new update (the same of UK users).
     
  7. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Ahh ok. I dont think there's a UK update yet. The phones just came shipped from O2 with that version.

    Maybe i should make some ODIN files for this H7 version. Lets try it
     
  8. Vap1d-

    Vap1d- Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any idea how hard it would be to roll H2 or H7 in to that italian custom rom that came out yesterday? It is based on Cyanogen which would be sweet...
     
  9. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    I thought that the custom roms just compiled the latest google image and dropped the kernel on top of it. Plus of course some system reconfiguration and their addons too. I'm not sure tho.
     
  10. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Ok, so i finally got 10 minutes to sit down and have a look at this new flash file (H7). Here's how to flash it if you can't manage to do it through NPS for whatever reason (you're phone isn't italian for example):

    EDIT:

    Use these files to go to H7:

    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=UMVWTYWE
    (Multi Odin is included)

    1) Select the OPS, BOOTLOADER, PHONE and PDA files. If you are not italian/don't want the italian personaisations (some of your widgets will be in italian and you will have the italian operator splash screen), then do not select the CSC file. If you are select the ITV CSC file included

    2) Shut down the phone, and put it into download mode [Volume down + OK + hangup key]

    3) Click start.

    To {UNDO} the changes and go back to the G6 build for your own region use the files below:
    You can then update using NPS in your region in the normal way.

    BOOT:
    http://rapidshare.com/files/265784798/I7500XXIG8-BOOTLOADER-CL36788-REV5.tar

    PHONE:
    http://rapidshare.com/files/265784954/I7500XXIG8-PHONE-CL36788-REV5.tar

    PDA:
    http://rapidshare.com/files/265785690/I7500XXIG8-PDA-CL36788-REV5.tar

    CSC: (Select for the region branding you want)
    http://rapidshare.com/files/265786950/I7500BOGIG8-CSC-CL36788-Bouygues.tar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/265787041/I7500ITVIG6-CSC-CL36860-ITV.tar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/265787157/I7500MSRIG6-CSC-CL36837-Telenor.tar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/265787311/I7500TWOIG6-CSC-CL36837-TWO.tar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/265787407/I7500VIAIG6-CSC-CL36788-O2.tar

    --

    You will have version G6 using the above files, but its a good way to reset to your own regions settings and use NPS when an official update for your region gets released. Its also a good way to rebrand to a different region if your from a different country!


    PS. H7 seems to finally fix the bad camera flash timeing.
     
  11. DrCereal

    DrCereal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks again Kam!

    What's the difference, functionality-wise, between G6 and H7? You might've said this already, but I must've missed it.

    Cheers.
     
  12. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    - No reboots
    - MUCH faster (not just kinda faster, really noticably faster)
    - Extra 20mb ram available - now I have 46mb free after boot!!
    - No more 'blank' voice in the middle of calls
    - No more call drops
    - Camera flash timing fixed
    - Lock button problem fixed (you know where it doesnt react to long press without a 2 second pause after a short press)

    [From the german forum]
    - System stability
    - Battery life
    - Battery indicator
    - Bugs fixed ​
    - Improved touchscreen

    Well worth the update since we now have the CSC files for the operator regions and you can simply downgrade back to you're region G6 whenever you like (tested it, it works) - and then just use official updates through NPS.
     
  13. Vap1d-

    Vap1d- Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Was there much or any difference from H2 to H7? Wondering if I should bother yet..
     
  14. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    I wouldnt bother tbh. There's no huge differences, although I didnt test the other rom much in that one day!
     
  15. Vap1d-

    Vap1d- Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    It has been rock solid for me, battery life is killer too (unplugged my phone about 10pm last night was logged in to ebuddy for yahoo icq and aim till about 1am prob 10 texts and idk 20min on a phone call today. then back on ebuddy from 5pm till 10pm when I got home. weatherbug and twidroid running the whole time was @ 45% when I plugged it in! oh and about 10min using gps and google maps thrown in there too!!)
     
  16. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Not bad!

    Is ebuddy the best messaging program you found then? Palringo seems to disconnect all the time.
     
  17. Vap1d-

    Vap1d- Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think it is, tried palringo meebo and ebuddy and liked the latter the best. The only thing that is weird about it is when it is open the only way to 'minimize' it is press the home key, can't press back to get to your home screen. No big deal I guess, I like everything else about it.

    I couldn't find it in the market on the H2 build but downloaded it from getjar with no problem.
     
  18. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Yeah i think only the German Id is showing all the market apps. Anoying!

    What widgets are you using? I only really have weatherbug (displaying in the status bar), google search and the battery widget.

    Weatherbug updates every 6 hours so i'm sure that's fine. But I heard some people say the battery widget drains power. Are you using any battery widget at all?
     
  19. Vap1d-

    Vap1d- Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have weatherbug in the notification bar updating every hour, and twidroid updating every 5min. As far as widgets I use retro clock instead of the standard android clock, battery widget, and overclockwidget (to underclock).

    Been using battery widget for ages, pretty much ever since cupcake hit and it was available. Never noticed it draining battery. I have used a couple of widgets in the past that did but they were like whoa noticeable battery hogs and were promptly uninstalled.

    edit: oh I also use Google Voice and that app is always running in the background too.
     
  20. mrbrdo

    mrbrdo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey!

    First kam187 thanks a bunch, your posts helped me decide to buy the galaxy and also root it and now upgrade it.

    I got the phone with firmware I7500XXIG8, but now upgraded to H7 with odin. I didn't have the reboot problem to start with (at least i think), and no other problems really, except 1 app crash once (i think it was the android.core app). The battery did drain VERY fast though (less than 24 hour with very little usage, a few hours with much usage).
    However, I have terrible problems with the New PC Studio. I just can't connect to my phone with it at all, not before with G8, not now with H7. Just as a note I rooted the phone first with recovery from hdblog.it, I did not try PC Studio before that. Anyway, I get the "unsupported device" error. It detects 2 disks and the phone, and i get that error for all 3. In Windows I can see the disks, and even browse one if i mount it in the phone first. I am running Windows 7 BUT i've also just tried a fresh install of the studio on XP and I had the same problem (all drivers installed successfuly when connected after studio finished installing). On Win7 only I also have the SDK and the adb driver installed, but it doesn't seem to be any different.
    I'm from slovenia EU but the phone doesn't have localization for my country and I think it's probably based on either UK, german or italian version.

    Any ideas? Does the studio work for you guys on H7?

    Thanks!
     
  21. dreamer81

    dreamer81 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have I7500XXIFF
    can that be upgraded??? And to what version?
     
  22. koy

    koy Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    The NPC software is basically useless. All you can do with it is upgrade your phone.

    Of course you can upgrade, depending on the country you live in (bought the phone from), you can either upgrade to G8 or H7. Just give it a try with the software that came with your phone.
     
  23. akanbi

    akanbi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks kam187 for the upgrade files and instructions.

    I successfully upgraded from I7500XXIFF to I7500XXIH7 using these without any issues. I was also glad to see that all my files and settings were preserved and I was able to see both free and paid applications in the market. Thanks again kam187.

    - I noticed I had more free memory (30MB after phone started and all widgets loaded).
    - The camera flash timing issue is fixed.
    - The performance is very good, but doesn't see that much faster than the old firmware I had. (Edit: touchscreen response is much better! )
    - Too soon to comment on battery life, but after 2.5 hours have gone from 99 to 96% according to Spare Parts, so looking good so far.
     
  24. Erly

    Erly Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I receive this errors with Odin:

    <1> e - dll cannot open the usb serial port. code: 5
    <1> Delete Comm3engine
    <2> e - dll cannot open the usb serial port. code: 5
    <2> Delete Comm3engine

    does anybody know how to fic this? I'm using Windows 7 x64
     
  25. gie62001

    gie62001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    25
    hi to all
    just updated my phone to H7 with Odin (all credit to KAM),the upgrade was very fast didn't even take 3mins and went from FF to H7,hehe.but im surprised that all apps and settings stayed as they were before upgrade.for now didnt notice much speed bt flash timing is very good now at least something noticeable :) dont know about the battery wil play with the phone for a little bit longer and see if any improvements on battery.havent tried keyboard yet as russians stated that its faster now,will try it later. so to everyone have a nice weekend and good time with your galaxies :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...