New Gallery - need to recover deleted videoSupport

Last Updated:

1. newmabt

newmabt New Member

2.1 was installed this morning. I was browsing the new Gallery to send a video to my laptop via Bluetooth. As it was supposedly transferring, I was deleting old media that I did not have a use for. I know I selected only some pictures and not the video being transferred. Well, anyway, my video is no longer in my Gallery, nor on the laptop.

Is there a way to recover a deleted file from the Droid?

Advertisement
  2. Stine K

Stine K Member

First thing you do if your image was on the SD card take it out so the image is not written over by other data.

I'm an android newbie myself so I do not know about other undelete apps than those you can use in a computer. But find a undelete app for your computers OS and try to undelete using a card reader for the SD card.

My 2c
    newmabt likes this.
  3. newmabt

newmabt New Member

Thanks for the info, Stine. In theory, I think this would work, but the undelete program I used wasn't able to recover the video in a format that could be read. I may try another one.
  4. bonkers2012

bonkers2012 New Member

I had a similar problem just this past weekend and here is how I recovered 3 lost videos from my Galaxy S android phone.

1) Use the USB cable supplied with your phone and patch it in to your pc. It should be recognized as a drive (H: for mine).

2) Download and install EASEUS Data Recovery Wizard Free Edition 5.0.1 from Free Data Recovery Software to free recover deleted files and recover formatted or corrupt hard drives - EASEUS Data Recovery Wizard Free Edition. TO YOUR PC.

3) Start the application and point it toward drive H: (will be different for you I'm sure)

4) Check off the types of files you want to recover. I deselected music files as that would put me over the 1 gig limit that the free version of this software will recover. I did not specifically choose sub-directories as the software handles this just fine.