New Google Car Home


Last Updated:

  1. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    So after reading some of the comments on appbrain, and a search for it myself, it seems DX owners can't get this. I'm rooted running tranqility 2.3.5 with beasleys build prop edits. I can find it on app brain, but links to the market say can't find requested item. Anybody wanna throw the apk up for us?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    yeah something weird going on. Can't see it on the market, appbrain shows it and says I can install it but it never shows on the phone when I sync with appbrain. Try to download directly from phone from appbrain gets a not found error. The 3d bar code airmax posted linked to nothing. I wonder if it got it get pulled?

    Anyone have the apk ?
     
  3. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    I read somewhere, a little while ago, that it was pulled because of bugs.
     
  4. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    LOL I guess they think the market is the beta testing site. Oh will I found a lot of other car homes while I was looking for Googles.
     
  5. exwifeusesiphone

    exwifeusesiphone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    21
    The other ones are better anyway, I use Car Dock and it has 5 screens, support for widgets and shortcuts and a widget screen saver. Works great for me!
     
  6. 134k

    134k Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
  7. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    won't install. The download worked, but it won't install
     
  8. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    1,039

    You need to move it to the system/app folder, then change the permissions. Do not try to install it, just power down your phone, turn it back on and it should be installed.
     
  9. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    wow, who has two thumbs and feels like a noob?

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    Very niiice....
     
  11. Pointguard1122

    Pointguard1122 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    14
    I am using this with RubiX and love it, EXCEPT the voice search. You might want to copy the stock voice search to your SD and add it back to this car dock. The stock search lets you search music, nav, place calls, ect. The voice search with this goofle app just does nav. I did this and now love the new dock.
     
  12. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    I moved the apk to the system app folder and rebooted. the apk is there, but the app isn't showing up
     
  13. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    Did you change the permissions?
     
    jreed2560 likes this.
  14. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    letting my noob flag fly today, how do you do that?
     
  15. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    With root explorer, after pressing mount r/o, long press on the apk file, press permissions and make sure there is a check mark it the following: User- read, write; Group- read; and Others- read. Then just restart the phone again.
     
    jreed2560 likes this.
  16. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    do I need to allow the user to execute as well? I've honestly never had to install an app this way. I've only deleted apps from the system never added.
     
  17. Pointguard1122

    Pointguard1122 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    14
    I added the carhome launcher.apk and it worked. Not sure if that was needed, but it worked.

    Jreed, I did allow user to execute as well.
     
  18. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    No, just the 4 check marks that I listed above.
     
  19. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    I got it working now, thank you very much Airmaxx
     
  20. ylexot

    ylexot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,336
    Likes Received:
    405
    What does it do that the stock one doesn't do?
     
  21. SlvrScoobie

    SlvrScoobie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    11
    Immmmm dumb.
    Installed the apk. Moved to system/app. Read on to find out i need to change permissions. Did that. Rebooot. Done.
    still nothing. What am i missing?
     
  22. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    I'm not sure what your missing. I downloaded the app to my sd card. moved it from my downloads folder to the system/app folder. longpressed and changed permissions, rebooted and viola it was there. It gives you more screens to set up custom applications. I haven't got a chance to play with it much but I'll post back after i put it thru its paces
     
  23. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    No problem, glad I could help.


    Go into root explorer and see if you a "CarHomeLauncher.apk" file in system/app.
     
  24. SlvrScoobie

    SlvrScoobie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    11
    its there, shoukd it be named different? Mines com.google.carhome.apk
    Also do i need to plug it into the car dock, or does running the car dock do the same thing?
     
  25. jr1125

    jr1125 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    8
    whats new on this car dock that isnt on the original?

    and where is every1 finding it?
     

Share This Page

Loading...