New Google Voice ruined my Free Phone Calls!General


Last Updated:

  1. Ordieth

    Ordieth Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    10
    Looks like the new GV app gives each contact an individual number when calling out. This means that instead of being able to program one outbound number to my Fam and friends list and getting free outbound calls, I am now back to paying for my minutes used on each call, reguardless if it's GV or Standard....:(

    oh well...
     

    Advertisement
  2. Ordieth

    Ordieth Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    10
  3. necosino

    necosino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    338
    Why would they do this. :-( Probably a concession to wireless providers to get out of the free calls..
     
  4. lvlln

    lvlln Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    10
    It's a speed and availability thing. This way, you can still make GV calls without a data connection, just with a phone connection. And since you're straight-up dialing out instead of contacting Google's servers, the call starts immediately instead of having to wait.

    I consider it a fair trade, but then again, I almost never use my phone for talking.
     
  5. bradm23

    bradm23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, saved by the old version in that link! Any one know If there's a way to ignore the market updates?
     
  6. Dman089

    Dman089 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    17
    stroths, Taylored, raghublr and 2 others like this.
  7. jamor

    jamor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    761

    A handful of e-mails/letters from high profile lawyers from AT*T, Verizon, Sprint, and T-Mobile would do the trick! ;)
     
  8. Howie

    Howie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    71
    that's the same thing I did with Shazam... went back to the previous version since I didn't like the updated changes
     
  9. EagleBoy

    EagleBoy Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    8
    But don't forget that this doesn't change the way you can do it without the GV app. If you manually dial your GV number, enter your password, press 2 then enter the phone number you want to call, everything works as it did before.

    Or, you can use the GV website (or the mobile version of the website) to initiate the call. In that way, GV calls you and as long as your GV number is in your F&F -AND- you have it setup to deliver your GV caller ID, you're still good.

    A bit more of a pain to do, but still workable.
     
  10. ramcharger1979

    ramcharger1979 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    13
    There is an option if you have app brain to ignore updates
     
  11. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    32,921
    Likes Received:
    25,271
    I read the article.... This is why I won't update the program.
     
  12. jprow507

    jprow507 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    13
    Exactly. I use the Flex Dialer Lite app - http://www.appbrain.com/app/com.maplekeycompany.apps.gvdialer - to accomplish this so it is much easier. It comes with a toggle widget. When its on and I dial a number, it will actually handle the entire process of dialing my GV number, entering my PIN and the number 2 and then dialing out to the number I dialed automatically.
     
  13. rb3

    rb3 Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does this ignore updates for all apps? Or is there a way to choose specific apps for it to ignore updates?
     
  14. Bug Splat

    Bug Splat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    34
    when you get the update on your phone (through appbrain on your phone) click on the red X box and it will give you the option of never updating the app.
     
  15. Kilo7

    Kilo7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    12
    well maybe I like this because I like/use the free texting from GV, it was a process to dial throu google, then request my GV return #then it would ask again for to use google # again. I never go over my talk minutes..but i do use more texting
     

Share This Page

Loading...