• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

New HTC Desire X

Hi,
Just wondering if anyone has any feedback, or had any issues/compliments since launch re this handset (htc desire x). Certainly not many posts, and the specs given on the phandroid review look questionable (eg memory for this phone is quoted as 768 mb external & 4 gb internal). Should that not be 768 mb RAM and 4 gb internal?
I have had a recent very poor experience with the htc explorer having such a limited internal memory that my 32 gb sdcard is wasted (all stuff downloads to internal mem first, then can be moved...in most cases).
I am hoping therefore (please anyone confirm) that the 4gb memory quoted is internal for the desire x.

I have been using a desire hd for 18 months, and besides a shame not purchasing it new (had power issues), its been a great phone.

Would like to stick to the brand, and accordingly seek feedback on desire x users experiences.
Appreciate any and all comments.

cheers

lethal1

Hi,
Just wondering if anyone has any feedback, or had any issues/compliments since launch re this handset (htc desire x). Certainly not many posts, and the specs given on the phandroid review look questionable (eg memory for this phone is quoted as 768 mb external & 4 gb internal). Should that not be 768 mb RAM and 4 gb internal?

Yeah that's right, 768mb of Ram and 4gb Internal storage.
The way they've set up the Desire X is that about 1 gig is "internal storage" and the rest is referred to as "phone storage".
When downloading new apps, they assign it to the smaller "internal storage" by default and you have to move it to "phone storage" manually via the app settings. But hey, it's better than having to move it to your SD right?

Also, it might be worth taking note that certain elements of ICS have been watered down to cater to this mid-range spec'd phone. (No animated wallpapers, no lock screen options, only 5 home screens, etc).