"New location detected", charges for this?


Last Updated:

  1. ttssg

    ttssg New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I recently got a hero, and it's very nice.

    I keep getting a notification saying "New location detected, Tap here to change your settings."

    When I open the notification it says "Would you like to automatically adjust your system time and local weather city?" and gives the options to Adjust automatically, or Do not adjust, and has a check box saying Dont ask me again.

    AT the bottom, it says "*This service may result in additional charges from your wireless provider."

    What additional charges are these, and what are they for? I would be quite happy to turn this option on, it would be nice for my phone to recognize what city I am in while traveling, but I dont want additional charges.

    I went to a telus store and asked an employee what this meant, but I didnt quite understand what he said. He said something to do with the data plan being used I think.

    Another android: File:Marvin-TV-3.jpg - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. gentlefury

    gentlefury Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    1
    anything that accesses the internet has to warn you it might incur charges...if you have an unlimited data plan it doesn't matter.
     
  3. ttssg

    ttssg New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, that makes sense. I have a 500 mb data plan, so if I still have data left for the month I shouldn't get charged? Does the data plan care if you have to receive the data from different providers, like if you travel to a different country? And I can turn this off right, if I am to get rid of my data plan to save money?
     
  4. maxx4096

    maxx4096 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think so... You can install something like netcounter from the market to check your usage.

    other country or provider: check with your provider but it's likely to be expensive...
    You can disable the data connection (menu -> settings -> wireless then disable mobile data or something like that).
     
  5. gentlefury

    gentlefury Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    1
    Data roaming can get seriously expensive and is off by default on the droid.
     
  6. ttssg

    ttssg New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, thanks for the help :).
     

Share This Page

Loading...