new memory card = new wipe/partition?


Last Updated:

  1. marco712

    marco712 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a new 16gb memory card and am wanting to put it in my Hero, I am already rooted with apps2sd. Do I need to create a new partition and wipe the old one? If so, do i do the same thing as If i'm going to install a new rom?


    I tried to search, doesn't look like anyone's asked this before.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,378
    Likes Received:
    16,472
    In theory I think this would work....

    1. Make a Nandroid + EXT backup from your recovery menu.

    2. Copy the contents of your SD card (the FAT32 partition) to PC.

    3. Power off the handset and swap cards.

    4. Reboot into recovery menu and partition the new card FAT32 + EXT.

    5. Reboot handset normally; it should start okay.

    6. Mount handset to PC via USB and copy contents of SD card back.

    7. Reboot into recovery menu once more and restore the Nandroid + EXT backup.

    8. Reboot normally and you should be good.

    Alternatively, if you have the SDK installed you could try:

    5.
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. adb -remount
    3. adb push <path_to_backup_file> /sdcard/Nandroid/<backup_file>
    Skip 6

    Goto 7

    Disclaimer: none of the above is proven to work, so use at your own risk. I cannot be held responsible for loss of data, melting polar ice packs, loss of rain forest habitat or the current global economic downturn. :)
     
  3. bzzzzz

    bzzzzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    2
    I tried to do this with an 8GB card last week.

    I had a lot of problems. I eventually decided that the card was broken and have sent it back.

    The most annoying thing was that when I replaced my old card because the new one just hadn't worked, the new one failed to function properly and I had to do a nandroid repair.


    My advice - back up everything and give yourself a bit of time.
     
  4. marco712

    marco712 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your replies


    hmmm.... ok that sounds like it might be a PIA.... what about if ... I copied all my content to the memory card, installed a new rom + new partition?

    Kind of like hitting two birds with one stone.... that way everything is fresh install.
     
  5. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,378
    Likes Received:
    16,472
    Remember that partitioning a disk destroys any data already on it.
     
  6. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    If you don't want to bother with trying to move apps across like Slug described, just do this:

    -Copy all your files off the old SD card to the PC
    -Turn off the phone and take out the old SD card, put in the new one.
    -Boot into recovery
    -Wipe as if you were installing a new ROM
    -Factory reset
    -Wipe Dalvik-Cache
    -Partition the new SD card
    -Reboot.
    -Move all your files from the PC back to the SD card.

    It's important to do it in that order as partitioning wipes the SD card, like Slug says.

    Like you said, it's a fresh install, so you will probably want to back up your apps first to make it easy to reinstall.

    But honestly, Slug's method is probably less hassle overall.
     
  7. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,378
    Likes Received:
    16,472
    IF it works.... remember, I haven't been able to test it for myself due to the lack of another 16GB card.

    My first choice would be to stick the current card in a reader connected to my PC, image it with Acronis True Image, clone it to the new card then resize the FAT32 partition with Disk Director. Still might not work though! :eek:
     

Share This Page

Loading...