new need help and hi? =]


Last Updated:

  1. fortyseven05

    fortyseven05 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone! I just got my droid last week and decided to root it and try to get a little crazy with it. However I'm very new, obviously, to the droid and to linux. I just got ubuntu for my computer yesterday and already have it on there and have been working with it a little trying to get things settled. So far I'm very happy with both, but I'm also having some trouble, hence the following... I know this is an introductions board but...


    Well I'm trying to put busybox on my droid. I've got it on there but I'm having problems with making a directory on my phone, which I need to do to continue. Anyway, what's happening is, ill put in mkdir /system/xbin and it returns "mkdir failed. Read only filesystem." This is after Ive already launched busybox. I don't understand what I'm doing wrong. Someone please help me. I'm really frustrated with this...
     

    Advertisement
  2. vincentp

    vincentp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    59
    Are you mounting before you try to create folders in the file system? Where do you need to add the directory? You might be able to just do it from your computer with USB mass storage mode.
     
  3. fortyseven05

    fortyseven05 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, or at least I tried to. I'm pretty sure it worked, tho I'm not %100 since I don't know exactly what its reply means...

    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system

    Is what I put in.
     
  4. darrin2520

    darrin2520 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    6
    Does that command return an error? Are you running as su? Also, just to save a few keystrokes, the -t yaffs2 is not really necessary. The -t flag is used to explicitly tell mount the filesystem type if it is not known. However, mount will recognize this file system. It doesn't hurt to have it in there, but it is not necessary.
     
  5. darrin2520

    darrin2520 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    6
    Also, the following link may or may not be helpful.

    Install BusyBox on Rooted Android Phone | Gadgets DNA

    It appears that the mkdir command they are using is actually a part of the busybox program. I am not sure if the stock system utilities has mkdir, but it is possible that you need to use the mkdir command included in busybox.

    You may need to give a bit more information as to what step you are actually at and I can help a bit more.
     
  6. bigdsports

    bigdsports Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had some issues getting Busybox to install on my Droid at first. Essentially what I did was delete Busybox from both the /system/bin and /system/xbin directories. Once that was done, then I followed the directions off this site and that worked for me.

    Install Busybox | Root Your Droid
     
  7. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7,978
    Likes Received:
    3,603
    Just an fyi: A number of the custom Roms come with busy box installed
     

Share This Page

Loading...