1. HUGE Androidforums.com UPDATE! Learn what's new (and download the new app!)
    Dismiss Notice

New problems after Jan update?General (Browse All)


Last Updated:

  1. Dangraef

    Dangraef Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone seen new problems since this latest update? I don't know if it is just me, but I cannot rearrange my homepages since this last update. If I try and long press on the icon it opens the app. Anyone else seen that?

    I am curious if there have been new issues devoloped from this latest patch...
     

    Advertisement
  2. adirdam23

    adirdam23 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm still waiting for my update. I'm still on 1.56
     
  3. Aelhues

    Aelhues Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't had any issues with icons, long press, or rearranging icons since the update.

    I am starting to wonder if it broke something about google voice. Although, with not having seen anyone else mention it here, I'm skeptical. I have actually re-installed it, but with the same results. Everytime I restart the phone, or attempt to load gvoice, it pops up the "force close" window. I don't really use gvoice for anything but a service to direct calls between work, mobile, and wifes mobile, so it really is no inconvenience, just a mild irritation.
     
  4. bigdroid

    bigdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    7,114
    Likes Received:
    132
    The only issues I continue to still have is YouTube and Facebook when you choose notifications I get an error message.
     
  5. CalifJewls

    CalifJewls Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    No issues since last update! For me it did fix the screen lock up issue as stated.
     
  6. gtpdjw

    gtpdjw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    38
    After updated my phone has worked fine no problems besides You tube is hit and miss on playing vids. I use Google voice it's working good for me
     
  7. JrzDroid

    JrzDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    308
    ever since i installed MR2 i keep getting error messages about provider.htc
    it keeps making me force close it. Anyone else have this problem?
     
  8. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,634
    Likes Received:
    1,902
    I was having that problem for a couple of days prior to the latest update. Since I never use Google Voice from my phone for anything - like you, I just use it to forward calls to any of our phones - I just ended up uninstalling it.
     
  9. LoneRider

    LoneRider Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Google Voice has been force closing since I installed the GV update about a week ago... the Eris update didn't effect it... still force closing after restarting the phone...
     
  10. gtpdjw

    gtpdjw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    38
    I had that happen to me I believe it's because the phone loses data connection when you turn it off or do a reboot is it working fine now?
     
  11. falltime

    falltime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    10
    it works after the FC - but the FC is annoying
     
  12. gtpdjw

    gtpdjw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    38
    I think if you use app manager and close google voice before reboot or turning the phone off you wont get the F/C error
     
  13. LoneRider

    LoneRider Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    It still gives the force close after a restart but after that it works fine.
     
  14. trevgriff

    trevgriff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    After my Eris received the latest update I lost the ability to transfer files to and from the SD card. After this latest update the card is no longer visible even after selecting mount sd card.

    PC is a windows 7 ultimate 64 bit machine, prior to the update everything was fine.

    Update is software version # 1.17.605.1 (second ota update)

    Has anyone else noticed this issue?
     
  15. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    41
    I wish they would leave our phones alone until the 2.x upgrade is ready. At least make the updates optional. I haven't had any trouble with my lock screen. Since the update, my lock screen has continued to work flawlessly, but my home screens lag terribly. Switching screens side to side makes me want to throw my phone across the room. Rebooting doesn't help. This never happened before update. Why!??!
     
  16. rdalev

    rdalev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    34
    All I can say is my phone was fine before the last update. Right after installing the update, I had to do a hard reset as the phone had been rendered useless, could not even make a phone call !
     
  17. nekoki

    nekoki Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    3
    Same here. Youtube still has not been fixed and now some of the apps I previously had on my phone are no longer visible to me (Calorie Counter for one). Something to do with the phone not being recognized as a whitelisted (ie non-rooted, non-developer) phone and app copy protection. Very freakin aggravating.
     
  18. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    41
    My digital clock app is the same way.
     
  19. RC Addict

    RC Addict Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    2
    I noticed the Facebook issue started on the 2nd of the month. Have not been able to download notifications since. Switched to Facebook by Droid Heaven (has the blue f on white icon) and it works flawlessly. Give it a try?
     
  20. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    41
    The only problem with using the touch site for Facebook (and Facebook by Droid Haven) is that their news feed doesn't show your friends' updates from mobile devices.
     
  21. ericDylan

    ericDylan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    34
    i have recently had problems with the prox. censor. i dont talk on the phone to much so it really isnt an issue but is kinda annoying when i do though
     
  22. Anducks

    Anducks Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Haven't had any issues at all. In fact, I posted some threads on here about why I couldn't use Google Maps or the Market, but after I manually updated the software both applications worked fine.
     
  23. swe3t23

    swe3t23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    2
    after the update... did anyone notice that when you get a call you usually unlock the phone and there is no option to accept the call or not accept the call.

    When someone calls and you unlock the phone it answers it.

    is it just me
     
  24. W4LLY

    W4LLY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    36
    Just got an update pop here in new york. I'm guessing this is the second OTA, and we're still waiting on 2.x?
     
  25. droid-dohrk

    droid-dohrk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well, I just tested this.

    If the phone is asleep and I receive a call, it turns the screen on and you are at the Lock Screen, It says right on the curved bar, Swipe down to answer or press Menu.
    So, if I swipe down it answers the call. If I press the End call button it stops ringing and goes to VM. So, End call will Decline.

    Also, you don't have to swipe to answer, you can press the Green Send call button to answer.


    Usually, I run ScreenModeWidget and I have it set for Awake Stay (that let's the screen timeout and turn off, but when you press the End call or Trackball to turn on the screen, it doesn't make you swipe or press menu). When I have it set like that and receive a call, it turns on the screen and I get the Accept/Decline buttons.

    I don't know how it was before this update as I always have Awake Stay on.
     

Share This Page

Loading...