New SD card - just transfer from old card?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Bearly

    Bearly Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,011
    Likes Received:
    78
    I searched the Incredible forums and sub forums and could not find an answer to this question, though I am sure it has been asked:

    If I want to go from my stock 2 GB card to a new card, and I want to preserve data AND have all apps still be able to read whatever data they were reading off the card, do I just transfer the files from one card to the other?

    I bet the only thing I need to make sure of is that new card is formatted with the same file system as the original card, right?

    I know copying data from one card to the other will preserve data, but I want to make sure I have no problems with apps, either, after inserting the newer card.

    Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement
  2. sabrewings

    sabrewings Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    104
    Just copy it. It'll be fine. :)
     
  3. BobRossLives

    BobRossLives New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does just copying files from one SD card to another work? are there any other steps to ensure all data and app files will work with new card? Has anyone successfully tried this? Thanks.
     
  4. emmur0

    emmur0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have yet to try and copy the files, but i'm going from an 8gb to a 16gb card. I plan on copy and pasting later today when I get home from work. I hope it goes as planned.
     
  5. Musky

    Musky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,830
    Likes Received:
    369
    I went from the stock 2GB card to a 4GB I had around and I just copied everything on the old card to the new one at one time. Everything worked fine, except my ringtones were messed up. Funny thing too, I use ringtones from "my music" and they were all just one song off after I switched cards. No biggie, but very strange, like the "address" to the songs got messed up.
     
  6. Jim Chapman

    Jim Chapman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    11
    FWIW, the SD card I am using with my Dinc is one that I simply removed from my old Palm Centro. I did not change the directory structure in any way, so it may be somewhat different than what Android would have created on an empty card, but nevertheless it found all the MP3 and JPEG files without difficulty.
     
  7. Bearly

    Bearly Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,011
    Likes Received:
    78
    Yes, copy over the folder structure EXACTLY.

    Just make sure the cards were formatted with the same file system. (not sure it matters, but I could've sworn I read that it did matter).

    I'm waiting on a 32 GB class 6 to come out under $100...like, in two years.
     
  8. freddyttt

    freddyttt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    45
    need
     

Share This Page

Loading...