New SD card keeps unmountingSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Huitzi

    Huitzi Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I bought a new 8GB Micro SDHC card to replace the stock 1gb card included, it came with a mini reader which was useful. Here's what I did: I connected my phone to my PC with the same USB cable I've always used and mounted the 1GB card in order to view my files. I then plugged in my reader with the 8GB card in it, formatted it (just in case) fat32 and copied all of the files from the 1GB to the 8GB. I then unplugged everything, turned my phone off, swapped the 1GB for the 8GB and powerd up my G1. Everything seemed fine other than my ringtones being out of whack. The seemed to have jumbled around and I had different ringtone/notification sounds than normal. Who cares? I just changed everything back.

    So then I decide to put music on my 8GB via the normal USB cord, USB notification, mount. The PC properly recognized the card and assigned a drive letter. So I browse over to my music folder to begin copying I select a group of about 200 mp3s, copy and paste onto the 8GB. Not a single file copied over. An error came up on my screen saying I had no disk in the drive and to please insert one. I was puzzled. I looked at my G1 and the USB notification reset to what you see when you first plug in the USB cord.

    I once again mounted the 8GB via the notification and once again my PC recognized it. Rinse and repeat. Even copying one file at a time was causing the same behavior. I also reformatted the card and tried it all over without success, at that point it wasn't even copying my original files. However, inserting the 8GB card into the reader worked fine and I was able to copy my music that way. I ended up reinserting the 8GB back into the phone and I now had all my files including my music. But I'm still unable to keep the card mounted for more than a second during a file transfer. It'll stay mounted indefinitely if I don't try to transfer anything.

    I use these two operating systems on the same machine and observed the same behavior in both:

    WindowsXP Sp3
    Windows 7

    Any suggestions? I'm lost
     

    Advertisement
  2. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Do you know what class the new 8GB was, 2, 4, or 6... and Brand ...

    Possible problem with the micro-switch Cover that covers the sdcard ... make sure you totally seat it all the way around ....

    Last is get a 2 or 4GB card SanDisk RadioShack Class 2 ok for testing ... and try that .... you may have just recieved a flaky SD
     
  3. Huitzi

    Huitzi Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0

    I hope it isn't flaky. The card is a SanDisk 8GB microSD High Capacity and is a Class 4. Not sure what the stock card is. Is there a compatibility issue with G1 not handling certain class card correctly? I might just have to get a Class 2 like you said...
     
  4. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Well you have what is suppose to be a good card .... Class 4 being medium Speed ...

    But I suggest the Class 2 (slowest) as a cheaper way to test another card ... to see if it has the same problem ... The Class(Speed) would come into play if you were running Apps off the SdCard like many of us do ...

    But for plain storage Class 2 is fine ...
     
  5. trek

    trek New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone have an update on a simple fix? I purchased a Duracell 8GB microSDHC class 4 and it works and is seen in WinXP SP3 untill I try to transfer media to it. Then it unmounts and I can just remount it...
     
  6. Sweed

    Sweed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    1
    this probably isn't the problem, but it might be:
    you copied all your files to your new sd card
    including the system files android puts on the card when you first plug it in.
    try erasing everything from the card.
    put it into your phone.
    you'll see the message "preparing SD for use"
    when it's done plug the sd into your computer and you'll see the folders that android puts on the card.
    keep these and put your files on the card now.
    see if that helps
     
  7. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Just Reformat the SDCard to FAT32 while the SDCard is in the phone and Mounted. This will assure it will be recognized ... many card from the package arent completely useable and many are formatted just as Fat.
     

Share This Page

Loading...