new sd card, stuck in boot loop.


Last Updated:

  1. Drew5150

    Drew5150 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    234
    hey guys, I just got a 15 gb sd card. I backed up my old sd card and then transferred everything over to my new card. Installed it and turned on my phone and now I get stuck with in a boot loop. re-installing my old card and it boots ok.

    so I figured I could make a new nandroid back up and just restore it. where do nandroid backups get stored on the sd card? I have a nandriod folder but it doesn't seem to contain the one I just made.

    I'm running the latest fresh 3.2

    any ideas on what to do with out re-installing the rom. or could I just flash the rom over without wiping?
     

    Advertisement
  2. exclamation_mark

    exclamation_mark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    120
    Did you format the new card before moving your files to it?

    Are their hidden files on your SD Card that aren't getting transferred over to the new card?
     
  3. Drew5150

    Drew5150 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    234
    yeah, and I get a boot loop with another 8gb card I have.

    I'm wondering about hidden files myself, as I don't see any nandroid files. I deleted the nandroid folder I saw and my nandroid backups are still there in recovery.
     
  4. exclamation_mark

    exclamation_mark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    120
    You can show all hidden files in from the tools menu in a window, then using folder options you would go to the view tab and find "show hidden files" or something to that effect.
     
  5. Drew5150

    Drew5150 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    234
    well I found my nandroid backups in the clockwork folder. not even hidden. I'm not even sure how I overlooked them. guess I'm just stupid, lol. transferring my new nandroid now, hopefully it works out.. it should.
     
  6. Drew5150

    Drew5150 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    234
    nandroid back ups still wont function. I get a MD5 missing message. I reformatted the new card and stuck it in blank and I still get a boot loop. is re flashing a rom the only way to get a new sd card working?
     
  7. tsipa

    tsipa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    111
    Did you format it to FAT of FAT32?
     
  8. Drew5150

    Drew5150 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    234
    Fat 32
     
  9. tsipa

    tsipa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    111
    Try flashing the ROM again... I don't think you need to wipe first if you are sticking with the same ROM.
     
  10. chillenandy321

    chillenandy321 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    2
    What is the right procedure for getting a new sd card? Link? Many thanks
     
  11. tsipa

    tsipa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    111
    Buy one? I am not sure what you mean.
     
  12. chillenandy321

    chillenandy321 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    2
    When you buy a new sd card how do you format it to work with root
     
  13. tsipa

    tsipa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    111
    Format to FAT32 and replace all files and folders from the old one.
     
  14. chillenandy321

    chillenandy321 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks
     
  15. Drew5150

    Drew5150 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    234
    If you are running a stock Rom you can just stick in a new card and then format it through your phone. If you buy one with a use reader you can stick It in your computer and format it and transfer any files.

    Some Roms will install some boot info onto the card and then you will get stuck in a boot loop. I was hoping to be able to transfer that info over and go. But Its looks like I just need to re-flash my Rom and all will be good.
     

Share This Page

Loading...