New SetCPU


Last Updated:

  1. cdodge

    cdodge Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    14
    F.Y.I there is a new SetCPU beta out that is suppose to work with the incredible without a customer kernal.

    Havnt really tried it out yet so I am not sure how well it works.
     

    Advertisement
  2. andrew53517

    andrew53517 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    18
    I'm trying it right now.. We'll see what happens for the day. Max/Min is 614 to 998.

    And sleep/stand by is the lowest then 338? (the next highest setting).

    Sorry I don't have my phone on me at the moment. But I like it! Because I didn't like any of the kernels out there, well, my phone didn't. So this should do for now!
     
  3. billybob275

    billybob275 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just tried it out. I may be doing something wrong but even with the Max throttle down to 768 or 576mhz it still jumps to 998. This is after a couple reboots as well. Hopefully I just did something wrong because I would really like this to work.

    Edit: Rooted dInc with stock rom
     
  4. ruggerxpunk

    ruggerxpunk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    11
    Where can we find it?
     
  5. JustinD2473

    JustinD2473 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    11
  6. ruggerxpunk

    ruggerxpunk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    11
    What is it named though. The only one I see is the $1.99 for root users.
     
  7. ooz

    ooz Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    2
    Not sure since I have not tried the beta without a kernel, but I believe you still need root for setcpu to function.
     
  8. JustinD2473

    JustinD2473 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    11
    that's the one
     
  9. Tomoko

    Tomoko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    21
    Been running it for about 2 hours, works well, battery life is showing an improvement. Remember to use menu > disable perflock for this to work properly on the D Inc!
     
  10. thirtyfour41

    thirtyfour41 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    16
    i just downloaded this a couple hours ago and it seems to be working fine. a lot better than the old version. battery definitely draining slower. i'll report back at the end of the day, see how it does.

    EDIT: I am also running SetCPU on top of JuiceDefender, so hopefully the 2 together will bring the most out of my battery. Also using 1750 Seidio.
     
  11. paimon.soror

    paimon.soror Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    76
    Do you need to disable the perflock even if you have the rooted/overclock kernel?
     
  12. thirtyfour41

    thirtyfour41 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    16
    Good question. I disabled the perflock anyway since the old version wasn't working on my phone. I haven't tried it without disabling it. Maybe I'll give that a shot later, but for now it's working with perflock disabled and I'd like to keep it working :D
     
  13. BreakTheStatic

    BreakTheStatic Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    15
    You don't need to disable that perflock option if you have the overclocked kernel. in fact, i think you might even get an error message about perflock missing if you try to use the option. either way, you shouldn't have any issues using setcpu as is if you're running those overclocked kernels.
     
  14. ooz

    ooz Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just an FYI, if you were using a previous version and you updated you might lose your profiles even though profiles stay enabled. At least I did and my CPU was running at 1152 all morning with the performance governor!

    Hot Hot Hot Battery! Added my profiles back and all is well.
     
  15. falltime

    falltime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    10
    the new SetCpu had my awake time pegged at 100% (stock kernel) - which kinda defeated the purpose
     
  16. HyBReD

    HyBReD Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have the Hydra Underclocked & Wireless-N Kernel and I can't go over 1GHz. ;( Too bad because the Overclocked ones are a bit unstable.
     
  17. Hand76

    Hand76 Guest

    What settings should I put this at (that are safe) and will save me some battery life?

    Just lower the maximum some?
     
  18. coolbho3000

    coolbho3000 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    8
    How do you have your profiles set up?
     
  19. kmetek

    kmetek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    HOW TO SETCPU below 245MHz?
     
  20. Dsoto87

    Dsoto87 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    13
    You needed a custom kernel
     
  21. kmetek

    kmetek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    only way?
     

Share This Page

Loading...