New Sholes.info 2.0.1 ROM w/ 2.1 Apps


Last Updated:

  1. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    This new release (1/12/2010) is significant because it brings about a few significant changes:

    1) Default over/underclock of 600MHz when under load, and only 125MHz when idle. The lower idle frequency should make up for the higher battery usage at load.

    2) Wifi tethering is now enabled by default, as the new overclock kernel has the files needed for it.

    3) The new kernel also allocates an additional 65MB of space for a swap file, making the overall speed greatly improved.

    For these advantages, there are a couple of things 'broken':

    1) Only auto brightness works (you cannot set your own brightness level)

    2) No WEP encryption for the wireless tether (this is inherent in the wifi tether program, not the ROM)


    I've been using this for a couple of hours now, and so far, so good. Everything is still optimized a la birdman, and the additional swap memory allows for speedier transitions between memory hogging applications (i.e. from gallery to browser to home screen, etc).

    I won't be able to gauge the battery life, obviously, until I've had some more time with it. Still, overall, it seems speedier than both the original Sholes.info 1.0 RC, and birdman's V4, which before this, IMO, was the best ROM available.

    Anyways, the ROM can be found both at alldroid and at sholes.info. I won't be providing any links.

    Other adventurous flashers can use this thread to discuss this ROM. This may be the last great 2.0.1/2.1 ROM, as now that 2.1 is open sourced, I expect developers to flock towards that.
     

    Advertisement
  2. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    LMBO! I was just coming here to post about this. Just installed it, and it seems to be the best ROM yet. Might be too early to tell. [link deleted] for those interested.

    Why can't we just leave well-enough alone??? :eek: :D :cool:
     
  3. jimbubba3

    jimbubba3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am interested in trying this rom. How do I go about putting it on my droid. I am rooted and running hc's 2.1 rom. I have been using nandroid to go back and forth from 2.0.1 to 2.1. I wasn't sure if I used the same process, meaning swapping the files in nandroid folder.
     
  4. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    Really all you need is the ROM file and SirPhychoS' SPRecovery 0.99.2b (the newest recovery image).

    If you're installing over a 2.1 image, you'll need to wipe your data partition. An install over a 2.0.1 image can preserve your apps and settings.

    The instructions for updating to the newest recovery image, as well as the rom, are available at sholes.info
     
  5. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    There were some posts of FCs and reboots after install. You guys experiencing issues like that?

    I'm on V4 and find it very stable and quick, and am wondering how this one compares in terms of stability...
     
  6. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    I read those too. I chalked it up to the fact that they upgraded from 1.0 RC1, which was pretty unstable itself, IMO.

    Anyways, I just dropped this new one right on top of V4 and have had no issues yet, and I've been using it pretty heavily.

    It makes a nandroid backup for you before the upgrade, so it's no hassle to go back. I think the most interesting feature is the inclusion of compcache. I need to learn more about it, but it seems to basically amount to virtual memory to supplement the RAM.
     
  7. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Thanks...I haven't used the new sprecovery to put on a tgz ROM yet, so I hadn't seen that it does an auto nandroid in advance. Is it a full nandroid (the default nandroid in 99.2b is only Boot, Data, and System. Prior versions included Boot, Data, System, Misc., Recovery, and Cache. (I can do a fresh nandroid backup on my own first to be sure, but wondering if you can look at the nandroid backup made during your install and confirm what was included in it...
     
  8. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    All I see in the "preinstall" folder that contains the auto-backup are the following files:

    boot, data, nandroid, system

    So, it seems to not make the full backup. That being said, I looked in my other nandroid backup folders and they all only contain the same files, so I guess I haven't been making full backups. No wonder I always have to redo my album art....lol
     
  9. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Thanks!

    That's funny - Data should bring your album art back, it did for me as far as I can tell...

    Appreciate you checking, I'll likely do another backup tonight and give R1 a try...
     
  10. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    Cool, give us your impressions when you have it installed.

    One cool thing I've noticed is that the home screen now auto rotates according to orientation. There's no need to slide open the hardware keyboard. I know a lot of people have been asking why this wasn't in the stock OS. I don't have an answer for that, but at least this ROM does it!
     
  11. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    41
    This one?

    Swype Keyboard Removed from Sholes.info ROM


    We have been asked by the owners of the Swype Keyboard to stop distributing their software (it wasn
     
  12. hopla

    hopla Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  13. Bxrider11

    Bxrider11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    4
    1st please forgive me for the Noob Question, but I am sure that you have to root your droid before installing.

    Is so, I believe, I have rooted my phone today, but I can not confirm it. I followed all of the steps and everyone makes this out to be a highly difficult task and that makes me unsure that I have done it correctly.

    I did it and triesd using an app called SetCPU that lets you play with your processor speed if your phone is rooted, but it tells me that my phone is not rooted and the app is in read only mode. Is there another way that i can tell that my phone is rooted?
     
  14. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    There are lots of other free apps on the Market for rooted users only. Install one and see if you get the same error (i.e. "drocap2"). Or, install Terminal Emulator, open it and type "su". Does it say you have permission, or not?
     
  15. mattkranzler5

    mattkranzler5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    2
    Can anyone tell me if the browser in this rom will detect that the phone is a droid? I tried a previous sholes.info rom and it wouldn't go to the android friendly sites for sites like espn, droidforums.net, etc. Anyone?
     
  16. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    I just surfed m.espn.go.com with no problem.
     
  17. Bxrider11

    Bxrider11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    4
    Just downloaded Better Terminal Emulator and typed "su" and got this message

    su: uid 10058 not allowed to su

    I guess that means my phone is not rooted.

    Do you have a working link for a zip file?
     
  18. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    Yes. Follow these instructions:

    1 - Download this file. root for droid.zip
    2 - Rename the file to "update.zip". (DO NOT USE .zip if your using windows vista/7)
    3 - Plug your Droid into your computer via USB. On the Droid go to the Notifications bar and select "USB Connected" then press "Mount".
    4 - Once the device is mounted, the SD card will show as a removable device on your computer
    5 - Put the "update.zip" file you just renamed into the Root (top) directory of your SD Card.
    6 - Unmount the device from your computer, and turn the Droid off.
    7 - Turn off your DROID.
    8 - Hold down the "X" key on the physical keyboard and while doing so press the power button. Hold both of them down until you see a Triangle with an !.
    9 - Hold the Vol UP button, then press the camera button and you will see a menu.
    10 - Using the D-pad on the physical keyboard, select the option to update with the update.zip file.
    11 - This should take awhile. Once it's done select the option to reboot the phone.
    12 - The phone will reboot. You are rooted!
     
  19. Bxrider11

    Bxrider11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    4
    First, Thanks for not chastising me for asking such a Noob question.

    Second, Even bigger thanks for helping me get my phone rooted. I am now going to proceed and install this rom. Wish me luck.

    Victor
     
  20. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    You cant tell just by looking at him, but Joe is the shizznit! :D
     
  21. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Well, I'm back to version 4 already...this new release was laggy for me using the 2.01 home, and worse with the 2.1 launcher. Milestone browser was great, however.

    I'll wait for the next iteration...v4 is still the smoothest and most most reliable for me.
     
  22. GZ2525

    GZ2525 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    is there a way to restore backed up data from a 2.1 rom to this 2.0.1 rom?

    I tried and my boot animation just keeps repeating.
     
  23. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    Could you be a little more specific? What "backed up data"?
     
  24. GZ2525

    GZ2525 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Basically all my apps and settings. Ive recovered only *data on other roms and it worked.
     
  25. Bxrider11

    Bxrider11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    4
    Messenger 13,

    I am trying to load this rom onto my droid. I have followed all of the steps in this forum: http://androidforums.com/how-tips/29204-how-root-install-droid-2-1-a.html

    Just supstituting the Sholes rom for the one on the forum. I copied everything onto my Nandroid folder, I also backed up the folder before copying and I am loading under a simple restore(step taken previously simple backup) and I am getting:

    Error: Nandroid exited with status 25

    Can you help me with this?

    Never mind, I think I figured it out. System is re-booting now.

    Victor
     

Share This Page

Loading...