NEW Software Upgrade for Hero


Last Updated:

  1. MR_COATES

    MR_COATES Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    11
    Hello peeps.

    Haven't seen this mentioned anywhere (apologies if I've missed it) but I randomly thought I'd check for updates on my unbranded Hero and something actually came up!

    It's a G-Sensor calibration tool so nothing exciting but I wasn't expecting anything ever again after getting 2.1!

    Screen:

    [​IMG]

    I had no data loss problems whatsoever during the update.

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us

    Nice new updating screen too:

    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us

    Will post what's happened after the update completes.

    Update:

    Took about five minutes for the device to fully reboot into the phone after the progress bar reached the end so don't be tempted to turn it off during this process.

    I was then presented with this screen:
    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us

    And within Settings> Sound & display you now have:
    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us

    And:
    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us
     

    Advertisement
    SchOX and rachelisadog like this.
  2. rachelisadog

    rachelisadog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ooooo, just done a check for updates (manually) myself and it's now downloading.....good spot
     
  3. captainstu72

    captainstu72 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    10
    Nothing here :( (Orange 2.1)
     
  4. adz63

    adz63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    13
    how do you check for updates manually ?
     
  5. revolt1977

    revolt1977 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Newb question but what does this G-Sensor calibration tool do?
    Is it even worth updating to my phone?
     
  6. zark

    zark Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Nothing new on my Orange, 2.1 either. Though I'm pretty sure I had that calibration thing already from 1.5... or did I lose it with the update and not notice?
     
  7. mred2000

    mred2000 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Erm... this has always been there, hasn't it? I've seen it before, anyway... maybe it just wasn't on unbranded units...

    (Orange 2.1 updates are numbered 3.35XXX so, I guess, are set after this one...)
     
  8. rachelisadog

    rachelisadog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    10
    Since you're on 1.5 and i am guessing you're running stock 1.5 (3's version) then the option isn't there. It's only on unlocked/generic roms i think
    It's like in the images, it's a kinda spirit level and when the phone's apps use tilt it aids that
    Calibration tool is missing from 2.1. It was in 1.5, there was a thread from a member on here who was none too pleased, contacted HTC. Perhaps it's his and other's efforts we have it.
    Again, it was in 1.5 but was missing from the 1st releases of 2.1
     
  9. Peloquin-uk

    Peloquin-uk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've just updated to this calibration tool and it's wiped the clock,and numerous other widgets from my home screens.
    My advice is make sure you save the theme before you do it.
    I know it's hardly something major but it's a bit of a pain once you have all your screens set up how you like them and they get wiped.
     
  10. nedamdam

    nedamdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    27
    Any Slovak/Czech who got this update or all from UK? (the old trick with the date doesnt work for me :( )
     
  11. mystastian

    mystastian New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its great having an g-calibration, when half of the htc widget are missing...

    The Clock, and Calender widget from HTC disapeared from the homescreens and arent available in the add menu either. (I'm not able to get them even with the update function).

    Any Ideas? Would like to have my widgets back.
     
  12. captainstu72

    captainstu72 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    10
    Okay, so maybe I should have looked before I posted last - This already does exist in the Orange 2.1 update...

    (Can't help with the widgets)
     
  13. nedamdam

    nedamdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    27

    Which country you are from? I want the G-sensor too.
     
  14. nedamdam

    nedamdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    27
    So today I got an answer (for my 2 months old question) from htc that the FOTA is getting official, asked her if she can give me more info. Will see :D. I still dont have it though. Anyone got it?
     
  15. robogo

    robogo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    16
    Got it, downloaded it, installed it.

    Now it stalled on the startup screen.
     
  16. nedamdam

    nedamdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    27
    Ah I got it too (after installing I rooted back :p) (Slovakia , Stock 2.1, Unbranded rooted with 1 click) but it didnt stall. It took it half an hour to install. I think when rebooting 10-15 mins. (Someone said its erasing the cache.)

    How long you waited?
     
  17. robogo

    robogo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    16
    That's the thing, 20-something minutes and nothing.

    Removed the battery, started it up again - the same. HERO logo and nothing.
     
  18. nedamdam

    nedamdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    27
    Hmm, give it 25 ? No idea what else I could tell you :( .

    Just checked my logs I wrote to a friend about the progress. So 30 mins the install. And 20 mins for the logo with "quietly brilliant" .

    Give it more time. I guess you have nothing to loose. Till the experts come :)
     
  19. robogo

    robogo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    16
    I don't even get to the "quietly annoy... i mean, brilliant" sign.

    It's on, I'll let it work for some half an hour and see what happens.
     
  20. nedamdam

    nedamdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    27
    lol :p (okay I dont remember which it was (was white thats all I know for sure) I wouldnt bet my hand on it :D) But write how it gone after the 30 mins.
     
  21. robogo

    robogo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    16
    Yeah, it's "quietly brilliant", I just modified it a bit :D

    Restarted it, this time on the charger. We'll see what happens.

    EDIT: Jesus H. Christ this is taking forever. :mad:

    EDIT 2: so, ok, apparently, this update killed my phone. I'm going to drink someone's blood at HTC.
     
  22. rayzzle08

    rayzzle08 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    how to update HTC manually?
     
  23. rayzzle08

    rayzzle08 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    how to check updates manually??
     
  24. nedamdam

    nedamdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    27

    If you have 2.1

    Settings >>> About Phone >>> System software Updates >>> Check now
    [​IMG]
     
  25. pdrhan

    pdrhan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    3
    when home screen is shown, menu-settings-programs-administer programs,in there find htc sense and press clear data,same for the weather widget in there , then you will get it back!
     

Share This Page

Loading...