New Superuser app


Last Updated:

  1. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    [MOD] Superuser 2.0.1 - Human readability - xda-developers

    Make it so you can actually read and tell which apps you have given permissions to. It worked fine installing with clockwork but I had to actually do it from recovery. I tried it first using rom manager cause I am lazy and it failed. Not sure why.

    Edit: It works for me on cyanogenmod 5.0.6.2 but Im not sure it works on other roms.

    Edit again: Probably best to clear all your current permissions before flashing this.
     

    Advertisement
    GirLuvsDroid likes this.
  2. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    515
    Just to be sure, this is like any other update.zip, right? In other words, you can select Install from SD Card in recovery?
     
  3. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    thats what I did
     
  4. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    515
    One more question, since I've never before changed my Superuser app: was it necessary to redo all the permissions you had given previously?
     
  5. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    I did have to redo mine I think but I had just done a clean install of cm so I am not sure if I even had any yet.
     
  6. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    515
    It installed fine on BBv0.8, and I still have access to all of my root apps (no new permissions requested), but nothing at all is listed in Superuser.
     
  7. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    so you dont have the Superuser Permissions app with the ninja icon in your app drawer after installing?
     
  8. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    515
    Yes, it's definitely in my app drawer (and it's a slightly different icon than before), but when I open it, there's nothing at all listed under Superuser Permissions.
     
  9. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    oh ok. Thats weird. I guess it is probably best to clear all of your permissions before installing this
     
  10. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    515
    I posted this over at XDA, since they're looking for feedback about whether it works on other ROMs. I consider myself lucky, because apparently folks lost SU access entirely on some ROMs.
     
  11. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    yea I saw that. Thats why I backed up before flashing
     
  12. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    515
    I'm going to restore from backup, reset my permissions, then try installing again and see what happens.
     
  13. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    515
    Yep, me too!
     
  14. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    515
    Lost root access when I did this. Restoring from backup again!
     
  15. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    lol...weird that it kinda worked once and not the second time.
     
  16. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    it seems some people that lost root access when they installed it, installed the zip again and then they were good to go
     
  17. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    515
    Hmmm, interesting. So, you think I need to clear permissions, install the zip, then install the zip again?
     
  18. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    Im just guessing and going off what others said but yes. Honestly not sure its worth the trouble since its not a big deal but if you are like me you probably just want it to work anyway
     
  19. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    515
    Yep, you got it! And I like the idea of the plain English telling me what, exactly, has root permission. I have to run to a meeting, but I'llt ry that when I get back. Thanks for your help!
     
  20. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    515
    Well, I tried it and it didn't work -- still didn't have root access after the second install. I restored from backup again, and I guess I'll just have to wait until the issue is isolated and fixed. I'm thinking of trying CM this weekend, so it may be a moot issue, depending on how I like it!
     
  21. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    hmm that stinks. Guess this really is CM only for the time being
     
  22. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    luckily i am a alien robot and can decode the current su app contents, human readbility fail.



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  23. stewart1champ

    stewart1champ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    132
    Worked flawless for me.

    [Running CyanogenMod-5.0.6.2]

    1. Did a backup from RomManager.
    2. Went into SuperUser App, hit "+" on each item listed.
    3. Went into Recovery.
    4. Installed zip from SD card.
    5. Rebooted.


    Pretty simple actually. After reading the reports, was doubting taking the chance... but hey, what are backups for. Hehehe.
     
  24. s1ckGhost

    s1ckGhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    14
    Hmm.. well I did it, and im missing SU app lol.. ima redo this and ill get back to you
     
  25. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919

Share This Page

Loading...