New to Android - 3G service...Support


Last Updated:

  1. Admire(er)

    Admire(er) New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have recently bought the new Samsung Admire (Metro PCS) and have yet to receive a 3G signal. I have been reading up on this online and have come across several blogs about people "rooting" their phones to somehow update the PRL number of 03019 to 03022. I am completely new to this sort of thing and was wondering if there was some way someone could guide me in the direction of doing so.
    Also, when I first took this phone home, I noticed that the battery life was VERY bad - but have again read articles online to help with that and I believe by following some of the steps pointed out to increase battery life, I have done just that. I was wondering also if not having data enabled would cause me to have no signal.. I am able to make phone calls and send/receive text messages, but cannot browse the Web (Opera Mini). I usually have low signal at my job, so maybe today was just one of those non-signal days. But not having data enabled has definitely increased my battery life by a long shot. Any tips/tricks would be greatly appreciated!
     

    Advertisement
  2. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,622
    Likes Received:
    70,271
    Welcome to the forums!

    I've moved your post over here so you can get expert help from other Admire users. :)

    Yes - mobile data is another name for 3G, so if you have disabled, you will save battery life (3G radio does usually consume a bit of juice, doesn't matter the phone brand) - but you won't see a 3G signal in that case, it's turned off.

    ^That's assuming I'm understanding your question, if not, that's on me, not you - I don't have your particular model to check out.

    Typically, PRL is something you can update yourself without rooting - depending on the Android model, it's under homescreen -> Menu -> Settings -> and then from there, perhaps an Update option or About Phone, both towards the bottom of the menu you'll find there.

    Best luck, hope this helps, if you - any of you cats hereabouts - need help with stuff in particular, especially the forums, feel free to drop me a line, my door's always open. :) ;)
     
  3. crono209

    crono209 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    9


    I was once like u who didn't know much about adroid phones at all and eventually ending up bricking(phone gets stuck on a screen when starting up) my first android phone trying to get it rooted. And about the data enable/disable setting, data is basically a phones term of internet so u turn it off u wont be able to browse the net. But it will make ur battery life better. To flash prl u need a program called QPST which allows to program your phone. Sorry I can't guide you through but I'm just giving you some tips. Finding information on how to use QPST is hard to find will atleast for me.
     
  4. locklady

    locklady Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    41
  5. GJC

    GJC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    4
    Well, I have a rooted phone. On last Sunday 10-01-11 I updated my PRL version from 3018 to 3019 dialing *228 option 5 at the voice prompt from MetroPCS "programming". It updated my phone to 3019 but on Sunday and Monday I still have 1x signal. Today I went to work in Miami Gardens area Dade County Florida and to my surprise a I was getting 3G everywhere except when I got to a friend's home (Little Havana) that do not have good MetroPCS signal reception (about one bar) and it changed to 1x inside his home but back to 3G outside his home. I checked my phone status (about phone menu) and another surprise my phone was updated to 3023 alone (I did not updated myself). What happened? I do not know but seems to me that MetroPCS is updating the PRL on the phones now.
     
  6. DarkFalcon

    DarkFalcon Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    6
    I still have the 3022 and I have been using it on 3G and 1X networks pretty consistently lately. I am not sure how the PRL was updated without a call to *228 or using QPST.

    Can a carrier send a PRL uninitiated?
     
  7. GJC

    GJC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    4
    Well, I do not know how my Admire was updated to 3023 for sure wasn't me. Now, Is it legal for a carrier to update or install files in your phone w/o owners permission ? Maybe when we dial *228 we are given permission to the carrier to snoop in w/o our knowledge, I don't know really but wouldn't it be chilling ?
     
  8. DarkFalcon

    DarkFalcon Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    6
    I now know what you mean. Metro pushed 3024 to my phone and I have not called *228 in weeks. :)

    The good news is that 3024 is faster and more reliable in my experience.
     

Share This Page

Loading...