New to Android - 3G service...Support

Last Updated:

1. Admire(er)

Admire(er) New Member

I have recently bought the new Samsung Admire (Metro PCS) and have yet to receive a 3G signal. I have been reading up on this online and have come across several blogs about people "rooting" their phones to somehow update the PRL number of 03019 to 03022. I am completely new to this sort of thing and was wondering if there was some way someone could guide me in the direction of doing so.
    Also, when I first took this phone home, I noticed that the battery life was VERY bad - but have again read articles online to help with that and I believe by following some of the steps pointed out to increase battery life, I have done just that. I was wondering also if not having data enabled would cause me to have no signal.. I am able to make phone calls and send/receive text messages, but cannot browse the Web (Opera Mini). I usually have low signal at my job, so maybe today was just one of those non-signal days. But not having data enabled has definitely increased my battery life by a long shot. Any tips/tricks would be greatly appreciated!

2. EarlyMon

EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

Welcome to the forums!

I've moved your post over here so you can get expert help from other Admire users. :)

Yes - mobile data is another name for 3G, so if you have disabled, you will save battery life (3G radio does usually consume a bit of juice, doesn't matter the phone brand) - but you won't see a 3G signal in that case, it's turned off.

^That's assuming I'm understanding your question, if not, that's on me, not you - I don't have your particular model to check out.

Typically, PRL is something you can update yourself without rooting - depending on the Android model, it's under homescreen -> Menu -> Settings -> and then from there, perhaps an Update option or About Phone, both towards the bottom of the menu you'll find there.