• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

New to Android OS - getting a Thrive later this week -advice?

rbenotti

Lurker
Mar 5, 2012
Hello.

I am new to the Android OS word, but not to technology (support Windows, Blackberrys, iPhones, etc - just not Android stuff).

I'll be getting the Thrive in a few days and am wondering what I should do to it out of the box. I think it will be coming with Android 3.1, so I assume it should update it to the newer 3.2. I don't plan to root the tablet unless someone can tell me why I should.

Basic uses are going to be - web, picture slide show viewer, e-mail device, Facebook, mp3 player, portable movie player for the kids, a few games, eReader, device for recipes, Skype and I'm sure others.

Any basic advise (apps, tweaks, otherwise) is greatly appreciated.

I will be getting a leather case and screen protector shortly.

I look forward to the Android world!!

Thanks!!!

well first off, welcome to the world of Android! We're glad to have you here. Many of the things you stated that you would be using the thrive for come with the tablet preloaded(email[there are still apps out there like Yahoo! Mail if you prefer to use the actual email app from them], gallery[for pics and videos taken from your camera], Music player, Movie Player and I think there's a preloaded eReader).
From your list, you would need to download:
•Games you'd like
•Other apps that you'd like

The android market is very easy to use, simply tap the icon labeled "Market" and it will bring you to the landing page. From there you can browse the apps, or search for a specific app.