New to Android, question about SD cards


Last Updated:

  1. JoshCochran01

    JoshCochran01 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've only been using Android for a few weeks, but my productivity at work has been cut in half, my girlfriend is invisible, and I don't know what TV is anymore.

    I've learned a lot reading these forums so far, but I have a question that is probably child's play for most.

    If I purchase a different SD card, what is the easiest way to transfer everything over? Is it something that can be done on a PC, i.e., copying from old SD to desktop then copying from desktop to the new SD card?

    Thanks in advance for any help.
     

    Advertisement
  2. EmoTonyB

    EmoTonyB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    86

    yes. its THAT easy! ive done it twice so far. 2GB to 4 and then 4GB to 8.

    mount your phone, copy to wherever, turn the phone off, swap cards, boot back up, mount again and copy. easy as pie. good luck and Welcome to Android!!!
     
    JoshCochran01 likes this.
  3. mjschmidt

    mjschmidt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    113
    It's even easier if you get a microSD card adapter (looks like a full-sized SD card, you plug the microSD card into it). Then you don't have to connect the phone, just stick the card in to the card reader on your computer (if you have one).

    I also use Microsoft SyncToy. It makes large file transfers easy.

    Download details: SyncToy 2.1

    BTW: After you move everything over, you might need to go into your Gallery app to let it "find" your photos again, and if you use an MP3 from your sd card as your ring tone, you might have to set it again.

    When I did the move (2GB to 4GB) my ringtone changed to a different MP3 on my sd card, and I had to reset it.
     
  4. lectraplayer

    lectraplayer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    18
    You don't have to turn the phone off but you do have to give it a head's up that you're about to take its SD card. Unmount then go Settings>SD Card and Phone Storage>Unmount. Put new card in and then mount to the pc.
     
  5. Caff Racer

    Caff Racer Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    5
    A further question (well two, actually) about swapping SD cards:

    1. I currently have a 8Gb card in my phone (Xperia Neo V). What is the maximum capacity card I can put in there? I was thinking about putting in a 32Gb.
    2. What about copying an SD card that has apps on it to a Mac (running OSX 10.6.8), and then copying it back again. Is there anything I should be careful about?
     
  6. mikabuc

    mikabuc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    I don't believe that there is a max GB limit. I'd think that would be independent of everything else.
    I have NO idea on the Mac question :)
     
  7. Crashdamage

    Crashdamage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    4,451
    Likes Received:
    2,728
    32GB is the limit.
     
    Caff Racer likes this.
  8. mschmunk

    mschmunk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    Some phones of the droid variety I've heard don't work well with the faster class 10 cards, but I've heard that there is not a lot of reason to go faster than a class 6 card (Not noticeably faster for most phone operations for the added cost).
    The files should copy just fine onto a mac since its just a fat32 file system on the card. If you had rooted it and were using ext3 or ext4 it might be a different story.
     

Share This Page

Loading...