New to androids and confused already (I think) :)

Last Updated:

1. mema2.1

mema2.1 Active Member This Topic's Starter

Hi all! I've been reading threads for awhile now hoping I could get an answer to my question but I'm not seeing it.

I know this is not the place to ask questions and to introduce ourselves so by way of introduction - I am NEW to androids in general. I just purchased one second hand HTC Eris (yikes) that is rooted and has kaosfroyo 37 on it. Until I found this forum I had no idea what that even meant :)

Got it in my anxious little hands and played with it a bit. Wasn't sure I liked what was there so I flashed the older original ROM back onto it and after about 10 minutes decided I liked that even less :)

I'm not a novice but I definitely don't know a lot of the terminology and I'm afraid I will end up with a nice "brick" that I've read a bit about :) I'm also a little hesitant because even though I'm not thrilled with what I'm running now I have things set up pretty much how I'd like them so I don't want to ruin that and not be able to get it back that way fairly quick.

I've been looking for a new ROM that will support the things I do most which I'm not finding in any of the threads :) Texting, picture and video messages, camera that doesn't freeze or get garbled would be a nice bonus - just little things.

I'm comfortable enough to be able to follow directions and move forward on my own but not so comfortable that I feel like I can do that without some wise advice of where to look for that information to base a choice on:) I do like that if I don't like it I can undo it, that's an awesome reason to ROOT :)

If any of you know of a thread I can look into I'd be most appreciative and extremely happy, too:)

Glad this forum in here and I'll be around quite a bit I'm sure!
    Thanks in advance and nice to meet you all!!

Advertisement
  2. Steven58

Steven58 Reformed PH VIP Member