New to Evo from iPhoneSupport

Last Updated:

1. jsenvisky

jsenvisky Member This Topic's Starter

I am new to android. I just switched over from iPhone 3GS as of two days ago. I have been up to date with jailbreaking for the iPhone ever since the 3G days. The main things i enjoyed on that were tweaks and free apps via installous. Through rooting, is there a way to get free paid apps easily, or is the only way to do this through the buy the app, copy the data, transfer it, and then return the app method? Also, to under clock*** (I have an HTC EVO (and am very disappointed in the battery life, any help on that aside from underclocking and disabling pretty much every data function on the phone would be great (disabling mobile data is how I'm conserving life as of now)) and i wish to customize it as easily and productively as i did my iPhone) *** I must use an app to change cpu speed, or can that be done in other methods? Or is there a way to change it so it uses so much on less demanding tasks, and uses more during certain apps, because so far I haven't seen a reason for 1Ghz, only a fraction of that to run browser, games and messages... Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Advertisement
  2. EarlyMon

EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

Welcome to the forums!

Free and paid are separate concepts. Buying something, copying it, and then returning it is not legal - and any exchange of such info is not condoned or tolerated by AndroidForums.com.

That said - most all of the good stuff is truly free anyway - this is Android.

The multitasking scheme on Android is like Windows or OSX - because it's truly Linux - and not at all like iOS. You can get modest improvements messing around with the execution profile, but your best bet is to cruise over to the Support sub-forum, check the top sticky post, and catch the advice on how to tune your phone and the battery tips linked in the top sticky at the Tips&Tricks sub-forum (links below).