New to HTC, Hero, and Forum....Be gentle!


Last Updated:

  1. outafterdark216

    outafterdark216 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone, having just rejected everything apple branded I decided to pick up an HTC hero.
    I have used android briefly, and think its pretty comfortable to get to grips with initially so decided this was the phone to get.
    I do have a few questions (hope im posting in the right thread, dont flame me) and have tried in vain to find decisive answers through google so will post them here and cross my fingers!
    Please bear in mind I have had this phone less than 24 hours so jargon wont help!

    1- "Current City" on homepage changes from correct (edinburgh, UK) to just saying "current city"
    2- my picture from facebook comes up on texts etc, but nobody elses does.... can i make this happen easily? I can assign pictures but just find the facebook link kinda cool.
    3- On facebook, the app from market (the free fb app by kitana *I think*) constantly gives me an error message about authentication. This seems to be common, but is it fixed?
    4- I seem to be on firmware 1.5, is it worth upgrading? And if so, is this easy?

    Think thats everything just now but im sure more questions will come.......

    Im sure these are very obvious things, but any help would be greatly appreciated!!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,760
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    2) If you go to the settings and then Accounts and Sync, do you have facebook for HTC sense listed in there? If not, add it as a new account. Then, go to the people app, click on a contact and select the 5th or so tab at the bottom. It gives you the option to link them to a facebook friend there.

    3) Don't know about that facebook app. I use the official one.

    4) Depends which hero you have. Is yours Orange/T-Mobile/3/etc branded? It's easy to upgrade unbranded phones to 2.1, a little complicated but possible to upgrade most branded phones, but not recommended to upgrade orange branded ones.

    Once all the networks release the branded firmwares that wont be a problem though.
     
  3. Moko76

    Moko76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    32
    Hi!

    1. The current city information is gathered from your mobile network, if it happens to be unable to gather the information at any time it will usually revert to "current city" this usually sorts itself out relatively quickly though, unless you're in a low signal area.

    2. Usually if the names of the people in your phonebook match their facebook names then they will match automatically. If not you can do this yourself by going into the "people" app there is usually a link to this on the main screen, but if not it will be in your app folder. (button next to "phone" option).
    From the people app you can then click on a person you wish to link with facebook, press the 4th logo at the bottom of the screen, which is a refresh symbol of two chasing arrows. on that page is the option to "link facebook profile" which then just brings up your facebook friend list so you can choose the person you wish to link to that particular phone contact.

    3. I've never personally found the facebook app to be much good, I usually just save the mobile facebook page as bookmark through my browser and use facebook that way.

    4. Your carrier should update you to 2.1 in the not too distant future, I wouldn't suggest trying to do it yourself unless you're feelng brave, being as you haven't had the phone long.

    Hope that's helpful.
     
  4. outafterdark216

    outafterdark216 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks to both of you for replying!
    Its an orange UK branded phone, tried to update through the link on the htc page with no joy, but not the end of the world!!!
    How will my network release the update? Its not a contract phone (i use sim free and buy my phones)

    is the official facebook app a paid app? I just used the link from the facebook mobile site.

    I'll just spend more time playing around with it I guess!
     
  5. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,760
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    Your phone should notify you once Orange release it, even if you're not using an Orange SIM.

    No, facebook isn't a paid app. I would've expected it to be pre installed on your phone.
     
  6. outafterdark216

    outafterdark216 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I checked up a little, and it is the official facebook app.
    Its just a bit rubbish, constantly popping up in notifications that i must reenter passwords etc.

    The current city bit only displays such on wifi, which is understandable, but displays a town to the west of edinburgh in my living room and edinburgh in my bedroom. Weird.
     

Share This Page

Loading...