New to HTC HERO

Last Updated:

1. hassan

hassan New Member This Topic's Starter

Hello guys, I am new to HTC Hero, and want to ask few questions from the experts sitting here...firstly my mobile has a tag of T mobile, but i am using it with another sim in a country where HTC hero was not released...so meaning my phone is unlocked or something??if i upgrade the firmware will it get locked??

My current firmware is 1.5, whats the latest version i can upgrade too??in case it gets locked...can i unlock it in someway???

Also that what is ROM in android??my current build is 2.73.110.26 do i need to upgrade it as well??

Waiting for your response on this. Thanks

Advertisement
  2. Xyro

Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

Your phone is unlocked, and updating the phone wouldn't change that.

But you've got the most recent firmware/build for your phone anyway (Although we're all waiting for a new one to be released at the moment).

3. hassan

hassan New Member This Topic's Starter

thanks for the reply. Isnt the latest firmware 1.6?So having a tag of T mobile doesnot makes problem for me now...in case the 2.1 firmware comes so i can update without being locked again??

4. Xyro

Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

HTC haven't released anything above 1.5 for the hero, unfortunately. 2.1 is supposed to be coming out in March though :)

My G2 was never locked, but I'm like 99% sure updating firmware has nothing to do with the phone being network locked/unlocked. I'm sure someone who has unlocked theirs can confirm that when they read this. :)

You will have to wait for T-Mobile to release a branded version of the 2.1 update however, even if your phone is unlocked.

5. starscrean

starscrean New Member