New to HTC, new to Android

Last Updated:

1. uberdrums

uberdrums New Member This Topic's Starter

Hi there, my first post!

I have a Htc hero arriving on tuesday. Really looking 4ward to getting it, haven't had a smartphone. In fact my last phone was SE W810i. Which, to me, has been a brilliant phone....but I have taken the plunge and got the Hero on Orange.
    So Im new to smartphones and new to android. Sorry if my questions are a bit painful to read/answer.

My questions;

What would current users recommend to do I should do first to get the most out of it??

I have heard about battery draining quickly, should I install a 3rd party txt app? Is there anything else I should do to reduce battery drain? Or is this something that has been taken care of in the firmware update?

Does Shazam come pre-installed? If so, does this cost for positive track ID's? Or is it data charges?

I plan on using 3g Watchdog to monitor my internet usage, is this the best or has anyone got a better alternative?

I think that is about it. My main question is; what should I do first.

Sorry if these questions have all been asked before.

Thanks for taking the time to read, look forward to hearing from you all. Will let you know how I get on!

Advertisement
  2. zacspeed

zacspeed Well-Known Member

1. Turn it on :rolleyes:

2. Turn it off :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

3. Shazam isn't pre installed (or at least it wasn't on mine)

4. I use NetCounter to manage my 3G useage, seems to work fine for me.

Hope you enjoy the phone mate :D

3. uberdrums

which button turns it on?:rolleyes:

no, I got that I should probably start with turning it on! But thanks for the reminder!!

I was more looking for advice about battery drain, on this forum there have been various posts about it. Im just wondering if the fixes still apply, or if it has been sorted out with a firmware update?