New to ROM Manager


Last Updated:

  1. llblwskydrgn

    llblwskydrgn Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just started using this yesterday so that I could flash Mobile AP settings to tether via wifi.

    So I backed up my current stock rom using the "Backup Current ROM," my question is where does that back up go to?
    It looked like there was a lot of data, if there a way for me to extract that specific ROM file so that I can store it on my computer?
     

    Advertisement
  2. djquick

    djquick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    23
    By far the wisest investment you made.

    As far as backing it up, just copy the dated backup zip file and paste it to your computer somewhere. It will be in your internal sd card under clockworkmod/backup folder, then you should see a dated folder like 2010-10-04.01.58.31; copy that folder and paste it on your computer. Also make sure that you clicked on flash clockworkmod recovery so that you can reboot into clockworkmod recovery incase (God forbid) something happens to your phone and you need to do a nandroid back.
     
  3. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    Look for a folder on your internal SD card named clockworkmod. /sdcard/clockworkmod/backup is the path for backups.

    You can select a specific ROM by going into ROM Manager and selecting Reboot into Recovery (the preferred method). Once in Clockwork Recovery find "nandroid" and select it. From there you will be able to choose the backed up ROM you wish to flash.

    Nandroids can take a lot of room. You can always transfer them to your PC to save room on your SD card and put them back later if you want to flash something. Always keep at least one nandroid on the SD card so you have something to fall back on if need be.
     
  4. liquidreign

    liquidreign New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been researching this for days and every where I looked people were saying that Rom manager would save the backup for my Vibrant to SD card.

    This is the first forum I have found that says it is saved to the internal memory.

    I was leary of doing any custom rom install because of this.

    Doesn't flashing a custom rom remove everything from the phones memory?
    How would I restore the backup if I had to? Thanks
     
  5. CptGemini

    CptGemini Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    35
    Yes flashing a custom rom formats the system partition (not the internal storage part). As far as putting it back to stock just flash the stock rom on it using odin. As far as putting custom roms make sure in the rom manager settings you flash it with clockword mod recovery. I believe there is a video detailing it all on the akaskriller channel on youtube. There are videos detailing lots of things, he walks you through everything with much detail. If you want personal help from them 24/7 you have to donate a few bucks to their site but all the videos you can already access for free on his youtube channel along with a few free links like to odin and the stock rom are linked free on his site, I also have it on my dropbox.
     
    liquidreign likes this.
  6. liquidreign

    liquidreign New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. One last thing before I try a custom rom. So when I use rom manager and it stores the backup to my internal drive it won't be wiped out when I load a custom rom like Nero V3 or Axura? could you explain a little about the internal storage and partition. Thanks for all your help.
     
  7. CptGemini

    CptGemini Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    35
    I wouldnt really trust rom manager to make a backup, last time I tried it I had to completely reflash the rom I was using. I use titanium backup and mybackup root for the rest of the data like text/mms messages. Also your internal storage will not be wiped unless you use one of those odin ready roms that repartition your internal storage. I have some stuff on my dropbox like a couple of roms if you want the link I will give to you. The only thing I really used rom manager for was to flash the clockwork recovery which is needed to flash most roms but when you flash a rom it just formats the system partition which is the one that stores like some of your game saves & apps installed.
     
  8. liquidreign

    liquidreign New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK I pretty much have it now. Yes I would like the link to your stuff thanks. One more question, when I want to go back to a stock Tmobile rom do I have to have a stock rom or is that what the backup rom manager does or any other backup program does? thanks again for all your help.
     
  9. CptGemini

    CptGemini Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    35
    Here is the link. The stock rom is included along with 2 custom roms that are not odin ready. However the eugenes froyo is in there which is odin ready and the stock rom is odin ready too. If you need instructions watch the no brick video here in this thread.
     
  10. Jaded Soul

    Jaded Soul Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im not sure if this is the right thread to post this question, but here goes...
    I purchased my vibrant already rooted and flashed to Froyo. It has the Clockworkmod 2.5.1.2 ROM Manager already installed. My question is how can i tell which custom ROM (nero, axura, etc.) is installed on the phone??
    Info in 'about phone' says:
    Kernel version 2.6.32.9
    Build number Froyo.UVJK6

    I need help to know if this is a new or up-to-date ROM?? Is a good 1, or should i go back to stock and try another custom ROM??
    any help is appreciated
     
  11. dattack

    dattack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    6
    It will tell you on the build number. Mine says axura 2.2.5.6. It will also tell you on the rom manager what your current ROM is also. Right now you just updated to 2.2(Froyo). You can now flash a custom ROM like axura or Nero v3 if it's rooted.
     
  12. CptGemini

    CptGemini Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    35
    Here is a fine example of the info you should expect to see if you have a custom rom.

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Jaded Soul

    Jaded Soul Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, thanx guys. I already know that I have a custom ROM, I just want to figure out WHICH 1 I have. The phone was rooted and flashed when i purchased it (android 2.2)
    What info can I give that will tell me EXACTLY which ROM im using??
    Im pretty sure its an axura ROM, but im not sure which version. I've been reading ALOT about the different ROMS, lag fixes etc, and I just want to find out exactly what I have installed on my phone.
    Firmware Version: 2.2
    Baseband Version: T959UVJK6
    Kernel Version: 2.6.32.9
    Build Number: FROYO.UVJK6
     
  14. CptGemini

    CptGemini Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    35
    If it was an axura rom it would tell you like it does in my screenshot. You just have stock froyo from the info you gave us.

    Also here is what it looks like if you have nero v3. This was from before when I was using it.
    [​IMG]
     
  15. Jaded Soul

    Jaded Soul Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    "Stock Froyo"? That means out of the box Froyo right? I can just add whichever apps/features to my phone to make it how i want?
    Is there any advantage to installing axura/nero/euguene or any other version of rom?
    Or Should I just keep it 'stock froyo' and see what i can do?
     
  16. CptGemini

    CptGemini Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    35
    If you don't have a warranty then yea you should put a custom rom on it. If you do have a warranty then don't do it. Some rims increase battery life and so far I've gone about 13hrs but it wasn't all the way down and I barely used it that day cept for a bit of email.
     

Share This Page

Loading...