New to site...

Last Updated:

1. mschalle

mschalle New Member This Topic's Starter

Hey all, I am new to this site and I was hoping to get some tips on extending the battery life of my new Motorola Droid X. I checked the battery use in Battery Manager and the Display is at 55%, and Cell standby is at 31%. I have the factory default settings in place so any tips from anyone would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Advertisement
  2. shortansassy

shortansassy Member

Welcome mschalle!
    You've made a good first step by joining the forums!
    I'm fairly new to the Android OS, along with these forums, but I'll tell you right now - get Advanced Task Killer Free from the Android Marketplace - use it to kill apps and tasks that are running in the background, - this will go a long ways in saving your battery. Also, if you know you need your phone to last most of the day without having access to a charger - disable the services you wont be needing: GPS, WIFI and Bluetooth. Keep them off until you need them. You can also turn down your backlight to save batt. And last but not least - remove all those ridiculous widgets and apps from your homepage that come stock - that you just don't need or want.
    Good luck.
    Search the forums for any future questions and never hesitate to ask if you can't find an exact answer.
    ;)

yisagirl1 likes this.
  3. Martimus

Martimus One bite at a time... Moderator

Welcome to the Android Forums!

On the task killer recommendation, it's really not recommended to use a task killer. And if you're running FroYo (Android 2.2) then it's much more difficult to do.

Best thing to do is set battery management so a power conserving profile, shutting down GPS, Bluetooth, and WiFi unless you are specifically using them, and lowering the screen brightness.

Beyond this check out our Droid X forums... you'll find lots of good information there!

Motorola Droid X - Android Forums

4. Steven58

Steven58 Reformed PH VIP Member