• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

New to Smartphones, need to either fix PC Studio or replace it

DocBadwrench

Feb 9, 2010
I am completely new to this stuff, so apologies for any grossly incorrect assumptions. First, the deal:

I just purchased a Samsung Behold II cell phone. Main issues that I cannot resolve:

Cannot connect it to either my Win 7 or Win XP machines after installing both the USB drivers and the software itself. Once software is installed, it doesn't see the phone, nor can I update it. The error I get is:

"Cannot connect to update server.

Either an Internet connection or the update server is not available.
Make sure you are connected to the Internet and try to update later."

After a number of searches, I see that there are others with this issue, regardless of phone type.

Is there a way to easily copy data to the phone with either this method, or via USB connection? Currently, I have to remove the SD-card, put it in a reader, connect it, and copy items over. I am unable to copy items when in Mass Storage mode. The process starts, but then either hangs or disconnects.

I am interested in doing whatever I can save voiding any warranties. Also, I'm not super-techie-wonder-wiz with these new gadgets because I'm new to them.

I have other issues, chief among them figuring out how to sync via iTunes (the family uses ipods), and I've downloaded a few programs/apps but to no avail.

In the mean time, though, I want to get movies and pictures onto this thing and don't like the idea of having to pull the shell off my phone to do it every time.

Thanks in advance for any quickie-guidance (or links) you can shoot toward me.

Best regards,
Matt