• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

New to the Atrix

Hi all!! My name is Kris and I am new to the Motorola Atrix and new to android world. Recently, my iphone started acting up and then refused to make or receive any calls. I had planned on getting a new iphone in september when the new phones came out. I went to my local At&t store and told the sales guy I was in the market for a new smartphone. He immediately started telling me about the atrix. It was a pretty tough sell for me because I am addicted to all things Apple. I was beginning to think this phone was over my head by I am slowly learning how it works. I would appreciate any help/advice you guys have for me!

Kris

Hey, I'm new too... although I haven't decided yet on which Android phone to get, the Atrix is topping my list.

Anyway, I've heard stories from my ATT store rep that folks that come from iPhone into Android end up RUNNING back to iPhone.

I guess the conception is that iPhone is built to be more "media-friendly" for those that like to Facebook and do a bunch of friend-networking-chat stuff.
Whereas the Android is similar, but allows the user to customize how it works (ie. developer environment). Of course, this is just me - and outsider-looking-in, who also has neither an Android or iPhone... heh.

But, I guess, I would encourage you to try to stick with it, through the thick and thin. I would predict the Android may present some frustration to you while you learn how to use it, but I also think this forum is a good place to learn.... so far as I've been here :D

Good luck!

Upvote 0
Welcome to Android, the Atrix and this fourm. On your phone, there is a widget tutorial that will explain how to use some of the features of the Atrix. (It should be a widget on one of your home screens.) The other thing you can do, is be specific as to what you need answers to or how to's, so that way we can give specific answers to help you.